University of Idaho - I Banner
A student works at a computer


U of I's web-based retention and advising tool provides an efficient way to guide and support students on their road to graduation. Login to VandalStar.


Department of Earth and Spatial Sciences

Physical Address:
McClure 201

Mailing Address:
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3021
Moscow ID, 83843-3021

Geography: 208-885-6216
Geology: 208-885-6192

Adjunct & Affiliate Faculty

Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct Faculty are faculty whose primary job assignments are at other universities or research institutions. They are adjuncts in our department because they are frequent collaborators with our faculty and/or they lend their expertise to graduate student committees in our department. Our current Adjunct Faculty include:

James Bartolino
Hydrologist - Groundwater Specialist
Idaho Water Science Center 

Amy Clifton
Emeritus Researcher
Institute of Earth Sciences, University of Iceland

Mercedes Di Pasquo
Senior Researcher
National Scientific and Technical Research Council, Argentina

Margaret Donelick
BiMBy Power

Raymond Donelick
President, BiMBy Power
Manager, Apatite to Zircon, Inc.

Melinda Darby Dyar
Kennedy-Schelkunoff Professor and Chair of Astronomy
Mount Holyoke University

Cynthia Faux
Professor of Veterinary Medicine
University of Arizona

Colin Flint
Professor, Department of Political Science
Utah State University

Mark Friedl
Professor, Department of Geography
Boston University

Virginia Gillerman
Boise State University
Idaho State Geological Survey

Robert Glass
Senior Scientist
Sandia National Laboratories

Martha Godchaux
Professor Emeritus of Geology
Mount Holyoke College

George Grader
‎PRISEM Geoconsulting

Simon Kattenhorn
Professor and Interim Director of Geological Sciences
Associate Dean of Math & Natural Sciences and Social Sciences
University of Alaska Anchorage

Robert Krantz
CEO and Chief Scientist
GeoStructure LLC

Kimberly Kuhlman
Senior Scientist
Planetary Science Institute

T. R. Lakshmanan
Exec. Director, Center for Energy & Environmental Studies and Professor Emeritus
Boston University 

Hugo Loaiciga
Professor, Department of Geography
University of California, Santa Barbara

Sean Long
Associate Professor, School of the Environment
Washington State University

Ranie M. Lynds
Manager, Oil and Gas
Wyoming State Geological Survey

Enrique Díaz-Martínez
Senior Researcher, Department of Geological Resources
Instituto Geológico y Minero de España

Amanda L. Nahm
Program Officer, Planetary Science Division

Owen Neill
EMAL Laboratory Manager, Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Michigan

Paul O'Sullivan
Principal Manager
Geo-Sep Services

Carl Palmer
Senior Geological Advisor
Anadarko Petroleum Corporation

Robert Podgorney
Geothermal and Fossil Energy Lead
Idaho National Laboratory

Osamu Tamada
School of Human and Environmental Studies
Kyoto University

Graham Tobin
Vice Provost for Strategic and Budget Planning 
Professor, Dept of Geography, Environment and Planning
University of South Florida

Nathan Wood
Research Geographer
U.S. Geological Survey Western Geographic Science Center

Thomas Wood
Clearwater Geosciences, LLP 

Allan H. Wylie
State of Idaho 

Brian Yanites
Robert R. Shrock Professor of Surficial and Sedimentary Geology
Associate Professor, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
Indiana University Bloomington

Yolonda Youngs
Associate Professor, Department of Global Studies
Idaho State University

Affiliate Faculty

Affiliate Faculty are faculty whose primary appointments are in other departments at the University of Idaho. They choose to affiliate with our department due to their background in geography, geology and/or frequent service on graduate student committees of students in our department. Our current affiliate faculty include:

Elena Markovna Aizen
Associate Researcher
Department of Geography

Gwendolyn Barnes
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Physics

Jason Barnes
Department of Physics

Mark Barton
Senior Petroleum Geologist
Idaho State Geological Survey

Claudio Berti
Director and State Geologist
Idaho State Geological Survey

Brian P. Kennedy
Department of Fish and Wildlife Sciences

Reed Lewis
Research Geologist
Idaho State Geological Survey

William Rember
Affiliate Professor
Department of Geology

Elowyn Yager
Center for Ecohydraulics Research Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

Alistair Smith
Professor of Wildland Fire Science and Combustion Physics Department of Forest, Rangeland and Fire Science


Department of Earth and Spatial Sciences

Physical Address:
McClure 201

Mailing Address:
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3021
Moscow ID, 83843-3021

Geography: 208-885-6216
Geology: 208-885-6192