University of Idaho - I Banner
A student works at a computer


U of I's web-based retention and advising tool provides an efficient way to guide and support students on their road to graduation. Login to VandalStar.

College of Science Awards for 2021

College of Science Undergraduate Student Awards

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award:

  • Bandita Karki (Statistics and Mathematics)
    • Conducted research on epidemiology and virus dynamics under the direction of Professor Steve Krone.

Dean's Award:

  • Annie Burns (Geology)
  • Abby Childress (Biochemistry, Microbiology, Spanish)
  • Lindsey Clemens (Chemistry)
  • Audrey Dingel  (Medical Sciences)
  • Trevor Griffin (Mathematics)
  • Sam Holownia (Geography)
  • Carlos Munoz (Physics)
  • Teja Sunku (Statistics)

John B. George Award: Presented to the outstanding graduating senior in the College of Science.

  • Teja Sunku (Statistics)

College of Science Staff, Faculty, and Graduate Student Awards 

Dean’s Graduate Award:

  • Jarred Kvamme (Statistics)
  • Jin-Soo Lee (Geography)
  • Kevin Meek (Mathematics)
  • Randy Millerson (Physics)
  • Janneke Schwaner (Biology)
  • Amanda Stahlke (Bioinformatics and Computational Biology)
  • Erin Young-Dahl (Geology)

Diane Haynes Memorial Award: Presented to the Outstanding Graduate Student in the College of Science.

  • Amanda Stahlke (Bioinformatics and Computational Biology)

Faculty and Staff Awards:

  • COS Staff Outstanding Service AwardCollege of Science Fiscal and Administrative Team

The team members are Lisha Abendroth (Bioinformatics and Computational Biology), Gina Tingley, Kristi Accola (Biological Sciences), Cindy Ball, Deb Cissell (Chemistry), Renee Jensen-Hasfurther (Geography and Geological Sciences), Jana Joyce, Christin Fort, Melissa Gottshalk, Jaclyn Gotch,  (Mathematics and Statistical Science), Jessica DeWitt (Physics), Lorrie Williams, Hayley Grove, Clint McGregor and Terry Evans (College of Science).

  • COS Outstanding Teaching AwardAnn Abbott (Mathematics and Statistical Science)
  • COS Early Career Faculty AwardDiana Mitchell (Biological Sciences)
  • COS Distinguished Faculty AwardDeb Stenkamp (Biological Sciences)

Faculty Fellowships:

  • Harding Faculty FellowshipGrant Harley (Geography and Geological Sciences)
  • Dyess Faculty FellowshipPaul Rowley (Biological Sciences) 

Congratulations to all of our awardees, and thank you to our retirees for your many years of service to the college and university.


College of Science

Physical Address:
Mines 321

Mailing Address:
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3025
Moscow, ID 83844-3025

Phone: 208-885-6195

Fax: 208-885-6904


Web: College of Science