University of Idaho - I Banner
A student works at a computer


U of I's web-based retention and advising tool provides an efficient way to guide and support students on their road to graduation. Login to VandalStar.

College of Science Awards for 2019

College of Science awards for outstanding undergraduate students

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award:

  • Aaron Law, graduating with a major in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology

Deans Award:

  • Casey Beard, graduating with a major in Physics
  • Kelly Dopke, graduating with a major in Medical Sciences
  • Mikayla Ferenz, graduating with a major in Mathematics (Actuarial Science option)
  • Tawny Gonzalez, graduating with a major in Chemistry (Pre-Medical option)
  • Luke Sturgeon, graduating with a major in Statistics
  • Kohl Tensel, graduating with a major in Geology (Resource Exploration option)
  • Sue Winger, graduating with a major in Medical Sciences

Finally, one of the Dean’s Award recipients is selected to receive the John B. George Award as the outstanding graduating senior in the College of Science. This year’s winner of the George Award is Tawny Gonzalez.

College of Science Staff, Faculty, and Graduate Student Awards

This year’s recipients are:

Dean’s Graduate Award:

  • Andrew Canada (Geology)
  • Rosebella Capio (Statistical Science)
  • Rajani Dhingra (Physics)
  • Sarah Hendricks (BCB)
  • Laura Jenkins (Biological Sciences)
  • Dan Reiss (Mathematics)
  • David Russell (Geography)

Early Career Faculty Award: Chris Remien (Mathematics)

Outstanding Teaching Award: Chanel Clary (Biological Sciences) 

Staff Outstanding Service Award:  Jean Norris (Biological Sciences)

Dyess Faculty Fellowship: Jason Barnes (Physics)

Heimsch Faculty Fellowship: Michelle Wiest (Statistical Science)

COS Advisory Board Faculty Fellowship: Luke Harmon (Biological Sciences)

COS Distinguished Faculty Award: Jerry Fairley (Geological Sciences)

We also extend our congratulations to those from the College of Science who have been named as recipients of University Awards for Excellence this year:

  • Staff Excellence in Advising Award: Laura Robison (Advising Services, COS Advisor)
  • Excellence in Research and Creative Activity Award: Deb Stenkamp (Biological Sciences)
  • Excellence in Teaching Award: Rob Ely (Mathematics)
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award: Daniel Reiss (Mathematics)
  • Outstanding Post-Doctoral Scholar/Fellow Award: James Van Leuven (CMCI)


College of Science

Physical Address:
Mines 321

Mailing Address:
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3025
Moscow, ID 83844-3025

Phone: 208-885-6195

Fax: 208-885-6904


Web: College of Science