University of Idaho - I Banner
students walk on University of Idaho campus

Visit U of I

Learn about the many reasons the University of Idaho could be a perfect fit for you. Schedule Your Visit

Parents on campus during orientation

Homecoming Oct. 1-7

Join other Vandal families for a week of celebration and Vandal traditions. View Calendar

campus full of students

U of I Retirees Association

UIRA has a membership of nearly 500 from every part of the University. Learn More

Borah Symposium 1980-89

March 27 - April 7

Committee Chair: Marvin Henberg, Philosophy

  • Mortimer J. Adler
  • Hamid Algar
  • Chancellor Joseph Sisco

Quest for Supremacy

March 30-31

Committee Chair: George Teresa, Bacteriology & Biochemistry

  • Richard H. Ullman
  • Alexander Cockburn
  • Leslie Gelb
  • Eugene Rostow

March 29-31

Committee Chair: Roy Fluhrer, Theatre Arts

  • Daniel Schorr
  • Michael Manley, former Prime Minister of Jamaica
  • Ambassador Armin Meyer
  • Yonah Alexander, replacing Claire Sterling

March 28-29

Committee Chair: Robert J. Gregory, Psychology

  • Jose Napoleon Duarte, former President of El Salvador (1979-82)
  • Cleto Di Giovanni, Jr., former CIA official
  • Robert White, former Ambassador to El Salvador
  • Francisco Campbell, member of the Sandinista government
  • E. Bradford Burns, moderator

March 26-27

Committee Chair: William Voxman, Mathematics & Applied Statistics

  • William Colby, former CIA director
  • Saul Arana
  • David Atlee Phillips
  • Ralph McGehee
  • Jaime Barrios
  • Michael Harrington
  • Laurence R. Birns, moderator

March 20, 25 & 26

Committee Chair: Amos Yoder, Political Science

Pre-Symposium Seminar: Discussing policies and problems of apartheid
  • Leah Tutu, director of Domestic Workers & Employers Project
  • Dr. Pierre Rossouw, Dutch Reformed Church, Pretoria
  • Aldon Bell, Professor of History at WSU, moderator
Symposium Speakers:
  • William D. Broderick
  • David Chainawa
  • Paulo Figueriredo
  • Leslie B. Labuschagne
  • Bernard Magubane
  • Jean Sindab
  • Reverend Leon Sullivan
  • Jennifer Seymour Whitaker
  • Frank Wisner

March 20, 24 & 25

Committee Chair: James Owens, Sociology

March 20:

  • Father Elias Chacour, Melkite priest, Israel
  • Amiram Efrati, United Workers Party of Israel
  • Dan Simmons, Mercy Corps International, moderator

March 24-25:

  • Philip Habib, moderator
  • Ibrahim Abu-Lughod
  • Barbara Bodine
  • Farouk Helmy
  • Mohamed Kamal
  • Judith Kipper
  • Rony Milo
  • Hanna Siniora
  • Meron Venvenisti

March 20, 24 & 25

Committee Chair: Clifton Anderson, Agriculture

  • Series of three Teleconferences linking Moscow, Idaho with Moscow, USSR
  • Discussion groups on psychological aspects of war & peace, led by Stephan Marks, German peace activist

Symposium programs:

March 19

“After Reykjavik, Where Do We Stand?”

  • George Breslauer
  • Vitaliy Churkin
  • William Courtney
  • Patrick Morgan, moderator

March 23

“Understanding Social Changes in the USSR and the U.S.”

  • Basil Dmytryshyn
  • Harrison Salisbury
  • Nina Tumarkin
  • Vladimir Zvyagin
  • Patrick Morgan, moderator

March 24

“Citizen Diplomacy: Making the Future Happen”

  • Cynthia Lazaroff
  • Douglas Mattern
  • Joel Schatz
  • Rozanne Gostovich Royer
  • Nancy Graham, moderator

March 28-29

Committee Chair: Steven Chandler, English

  • Ambassador Kenneth Adelman
  • Ambassador Jeno Rande
  • Ambassador Maj-Britt Theorin
  • Seymour Melman
  • Paul Walker
  • Andrew Moravcsik
  • Robert Grathwol (WSU), moderator

March 27-28

Committee Chair: Nicholas F. Gier, Philosophy

March 27

“Drugs: The Latin American Connection”

  • Edgar Chamorro
  • Elaine Shannon
  • Fernando Cepeda
  • Mark Dion
  • Richard Craig, moderator

March 28

“Can the War on Drugs Be Won?”

  • Ethan Nadelman
  • Peter Reuter
  • Samuel Routson
  • Duncan Hunter
  • Bruce Bagle, moderator

Borah Symposium

Physical Address:
338 Administration Building

Mailing Address:
Borah Foundation & Symposium
c/o The Martin Institute
University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3177
Moscow, ID 83844-3177

Phone: 208-885-6527

Fax: 208-885-9464