University of Idaho - I Banner

2015 College & Department Award Winners

College of Science

John B. George Award

Chosen from the Dean’s Award nominees and presented to the outstanding graduating senior in the college based on academic achievement and service to the university community.

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award

Awarded to a graduating senior who has performed outstanding original research in science or mathematics.

Dean's Award

Awarded to the outstanding senior in each department.

  • Peter Brown, Moscow, Idaho (Mathematics)
  • Beverly Burtenshaw, Moscow, Idaho (Geology)
  • Shannon Gill, Moscow, Idaho (Molecular Biology and Biotechnology)
  • Daniel LaPorte, Garden City, Idaho (Physics and Chemistry, nominated by Physics)
  • Joseph Schmalz, Boise, Idaho (Chemistry and Biochemistry, nominated by Chemistry)
  • Tyler Westrick, Nampa, Idaho (Geography)
  • Taylor Wilkinson, Pocatello, Idaho (Microbiology)

Diane Haynes Memorial Award

Presented to an outstanding graduate student in the College of Science.

  • Matthew Pennell, Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada (PhD, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology)

Department of Biological Sciences

Biological Sciences Undergraduate Research Award

Based on potential for excellence as an undergraduate research participant

  • Morgan Merrill, Eagle, Idaho
  • Kami Cole, Albion, Idaho

Curtis and Mary Sundquist Undergraduate Research Award

  • Kelly Deobald, Moscow, Idaho

Department of Chemistry

American Institute of Chemists Student Award

  • S. Elizabeth Harman, Boise, Idaho

William H. Cone Award

Presented to the outstanding senior in chemistry.

  • Joseph Schmalz, Boise, Idaho

Cooley Juve Award

Selected on the basis of scholarship.

  • Ruma Joshi, Haldwani, India

Excellence in Chemistry Award

Selected on the basis of scholarship, leadership, and professional promise.

  • Hailey Knox, Athol, Idaho

Department of Geography

Lorraine & Marcellus Henderson Award

Recognizes a graduating senior who demonstrates outstanding scholarship

  • Taylor Wulff-Morrison, Truckee, California

Meritorious Achievement Award

  • Liangzi Zhang, Xi’an, China (People’s Rep of)
  • Grant Ross, Layton, Utah
  • Andrew Layton, Meridian, Idaho

Department of Geological Sciences

Liselle Batt Award

Based on performance, outstanding field skills and participation in field camp

  • Silas Z. Whitley, Cottonwood, Idaho

Outstanding Senior

Awarded to the outstanding senior in geology

  • Tyler J. Pierson, Rathdrum, Idaho

Outstanding Junior

Awarded to the outstanding junior in geology

  • Marie Danes, Moscow, Idaho

Outstanding Graduate Student

Awarded to a graduate student with outstanding research in hydrology, geology, geophysics or environmental science

Alumni Achievement Award

Based on outstanding scholarship and service to the department

  • Thomas A. Morrow, Jacksonville, Florida

Jensen Award

Based on academic achievement and citizenship

  • Andrew Canada, Danville, California

Department of Mathematics

Outstanding Seniors

Awarded to seniors who have shown exceptional mathematical talent

  • Peter Brown, Moscow, Idaho
  • Natalie Goddard, Hailey, Idaho

Chair’s Award for Excellence

Awarded to graduating seniors in recognition of excellent academic performance

  • Justin Stoddard, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho
  • Kileen Sutherland, Meridian, Idaho
  • Lance Churchill, Boise, Idaho

Excellence in Teaching Mathematics

Awarded to graduate students who demonstrate excellence in teaching

  • Aditya Baskota, Morang, Nepal
  • Daniel Reiss, Moscow, Idaho
  • Masaki Ikeda, Kanagawa, Japan
  • Shannon Foss, White Salmon, Washington

Department of Physics

George and Della Luke Award

Presented to the outstanding graduating senior in physics

  • Justin Brown, Boise,Idaho

Graduate Research Award

  • Pavel Bakharev, Nizhny Novgorod, Russia

Graduate Teaching Assistant Award

  • Yevgen Nosyk, Kharkov,Ukraine

Outstanding Graduating Senior

  • Daniel LaPorte, Garden City, Idaho

Department of Statistics

Dale Everson Statistics Fellowship Award

Awarded to outstanding statistics graduate students who have demonstrated academic excellence

  • Brenda Hanley, Moscow, Idaho
  • Evan Martin, Moscow, Idaho


College of Science

Physical Address:
Mines 321

Mailing Address:
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3025
Moscow, ID 83844-3025

Phone: 208-885-6195

Fax: 208-885-6904


Web: College of Science