University of Idaho - I Banner
students walk on University of Idaho campus

Visit U of I

Learn about the many reasons the University of Idaho could be a perfect fit for you. Schedule Your Visit

Parents on campus during orientation

Homecoming Oct. 14 - 21

Join other Vandal families for a week of celebration and Vandal traditions. View Calendar

campus full of students

U of I Retirees Association

UIRA has a membership of nearly 500 from every part of the University. Learn More

Meet U of I’s Climate Change Experts

Media: For assistance in scheduling U of I experts for interviews, please contact Communications Coordinator Brad Gary at 208-885-7725 or bwgary@uidaho.edu

John Abatzoglou

Associate Professor: Department of Geography

208-885-6239

jabatzoglou@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Regional climate and weather; climate variability and change; climate impacts on wildfire, hydrology, and agriculture Full Profile

Timothy Bartholomaus

Assistant Professor: Department of Geological Sciences

208-885-6217

tbartholomaus@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Glacier change; glacier flow; ice sheets; ice/ocean interactions; glacier hydrology; geophysics; Greenland; Alaska Full Profile

Christopher C. Caudill

Assistant Professor: Department of Fish and Wildlife Sciences

208-885-7614

caudill@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Thermal ecology of fishes; climate impacts on fish and wildlife populations; bioenergetics; prespawn mortality and disease in salmon in relation to temperature; work with regional agencies on fish migration issues including effects of water temperature and thermal refuges on salmon migration Full Profile

Teresa Cavazos Cohn

Assistant Professor: Department of Natural Resources and Society, McCall Field Campus

406-223-3862

tcohn@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Climate change communication Full Profile

Steven B. Daley-Laursen

Professor: Department of Natural Resources and Society

208-885-5804 / 208-301-4451

stevendl@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Forest and natural resources policy and leadership; climate-related teaching and outreach Full Profile

Grant Harley

Assistant Professor; Department of Geography

gharley@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Dendrochronology (tree-ring science); climate impacts on drought, tropical cyclones, wildfire, hydrology, and vegetation Full Profile

Jeffrey A. Hicke

Associate Professor: Department of Geography

208-885-6240

jhicke@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Climate change impacts on plants, animals, carbon cycle, forests, forest disturbances, insect outbreaks; climate change vulnerability assessments for Idaho National Laboratory and Naval Reactors Facility. Full Profile

Brian Kennedy

Professor; Department of Fish and Wildlife Sciences

208-885-5172

kennedy@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Bioenergetics of fish and implications of thermal stress and adaptation Full Profile

Crystal Kolden

Associate Professor; Department of Forest, Rangeland and Fire Sciences

208-885-6018

ckolden@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Wildfire Full Profile

Timothy E. Link

Professor of Hydrology: Department of Forest, Rangeland and Fire Sciences

208-885-9465

tlink@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Snow hydrology; watershed hydrology; ecohydrology; climate change indicators in Idaho; works with regional agencies and stakeholders on the potential effects of climate change on hydrological systems Full Profile

Tom Ptak

Assistant Professor: Department of Geography

208-885-6238

tptak@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Energy security; energy transitions and climate mitigation; small-scale hydropower development and carbon emission mitigation; development and climate change in China Full Profile

Lee Vierling

Professor and Department Head: Department of Natural Resources and Society

208-885-7911

leev@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Vegetation response to climate change; land use and climate change; satellite imagery and vegetation productivity related to climate; fossil evidence of past climate histories Full Profile

Contact

University Communications and Marketing

Phone: 208-885-6291

Fax: 208-885-5841

Email: uinews@uidaho.edu

Web: Communications and Marketing

U of I Media Contacts