University of Idaho - I Banner
A student works at a computer


U of I's web-based retention and advising tool provides an efficient way to guide and support students on their road to graduation. Login to VandalStar.

R1-2026 Research Initiative

The R1-2026 Research Initiative Working Group finalized in 2020 its recommendations to invest in moving the university toward an R1 Carnegie Classification. Those recommendations are outlined in the R1-2026 Research Initiative Working Group Paper and focus on making new investments in postdoctoral scholar and doctoral research support, while working to shift the university’s culture toward one of delivering results and expecting accountability in research and graduate education for all faculty.

The university is currently implementing the recommendations of the R1-2026 Research Initiative Working Group. In January 2021, the university announced investment of $3 million annually to execute the Working Group’s plan. Of that new investment, $2 million/year is focused on new postdoctoral fellowship, and $1 million/year is focused on new doctoral research assistantships. Details about implementation of this investment can be found on the P3-R1 website.

R1-2026 Research Initiative Working Group

View White Paper


Brad Ritts, chair
Associate Vice President, Research

Chandra Zenner Ford
President’s Office Executive Sponsor

Lee Ostrom
Center Executive Officer, Idaho Falls

Jerry McMurtry
Dean, College of Graduate Studies

Ginger Carney
Dean, College of Science

Michael Parrella
Dean, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

P. Michael Davidson
Institute Chancellor's Professor Emeritus, University of Tennessee

Amy Lientz
Director, Supply Chain – Energy Industry, Idaho National Laboratory

Shirley Luckhart
Faculty, Entomology, Plant Pathology and Nematology

Rich Christensen
Director, Nuclear Engineering

Diane Kelly-Riley
Interim Vice Provost for Faculty

Lisette Waits
Department Head, Fish and Wildlife Sciences

Tom Ptak
Faculty, Geography

Barrie Robison
Faculty, Biological Sciences

Raymond Dixon
Department Chair, Curriculum and Instruction

Katherine Himes
Director, McClure Center for Public Policy Research

Russell McClanahan
Facility Manager, Integrated Research and Innovation Center

Trina Mahoney
Assistant Vice President, University Budget and Planning

Connor Hill
Graduate Professional Student Association Chair, Chemical Engineering

Jane Lucas
Postdoctoral Associate, Soil and Water Systems

Contact Us

Physical Address:
Administration Building
Room 105
Moscow, ID

Mailing Address:
875 Perimeter Drive
MS 3151
Moscow, ID