University Honors Program
phone: (208) 885-6147
Idaho Commons 315
University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 2533
Moscow, ID 83844-2533
Alton Campbell

Alton Campbell, Ph.D.

Phone: (208) 885-7702
Email: altonc@uidaho.edu

University Honors Program

  • Biography
    Dr. Campbell received his Ph.D. in Wood and Paper Science from North Carolina State University, his M.A. in Chemistry from Duke University, and his B.S. in Science Education from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. He is a tenured, full professor in the Department of Conservation Social Science and served as Associate Dean for the College of Natural Resources from 1993-2007, as Associate Dean for the College of Graduate studies from 2007-2011.  Dr. Campbell was named as Director of the Honors Program in January 2014.  He was the Associate Director for the University Honors Program from 2008 until being named Director. Campbell joined the Forest Products Department in 1983, teaching and conducting research in pulp and paper and wood chemistry and the management of waste by-products from forest industries. Recent teaching responsibilities include College Teaching and Learning, TA Professional Development, and the Developing Leader. Dr. Campbell has authored 27 refereed manuscripts, 23 non-refereed manuscripts, 3 book chapters; and he has made over 60 presentations at national and regional meetings.

    Among his wide-ranging interests, Campbell has worked to engage students through leadership development, club activities, service programs, living groups, undergrad research, study abroad, and national student exchange. He has participated in several work groups to strengthen advising and the first-year experience for undergraduates and graduate students. He is the recipient of an ASUI Outstanding Faculty Award, an ASUI Service Award, an ASUI Outstanding Organization Adviser Award and a Residence Hall Faculty Involvement Award. He has received over 30 UI Alumni Awards for Excellence as the most inspiring faculty mentor selected individually by the top 40 graduating students each year.