University of Idaho - I Banner

U of I’s Coronavirus Experts

The University of Idaho offers the following experts to comment on various angles related to the coronavirus outbreak:

Science

Department of Biological Sciences

208-885-6966

lfort@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Virus and host interactions, how viruses spread and how our bodies respond to viruses.

View Lee's Profile

Tanya Miura

Associate Professor

Department of Biological Sciences

208-885-4940

tmiura@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Coronaviruses.

View Tanya's Profile

Chuck Staben

Professor

Department of Biological Sciences

cstaben@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Coronavirus readiness.

View Chuck Profile

Media

Kenton Bird

Associate Professor

School of Journalism and Mass Media

208-885-4947

kbird@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Science writing in the media and public opinion.

View Kenton's Profile

Katie Blevins

Assistant Professor

School of Journalism and Mass Media

208-885-8873

katieblevins@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Global media, media law and the spread of misinformation via news and social media on a global scale.

View Katie's Profile

Sociology, Psychology and Architecture

Lilian Alessa

Co-director Center for Resilient Communities, Professor

Department of Landscape Architecture

208-310-5400

alessa@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Studying social response and decision-making on perceptions and constructs of reality in the COVID-19 context, social responses to disasters including perception, behaviors and compliance/non-compliance, national security and community response to crisis.

View Lilian's Profile

Jamie Derrick

Associate Professor

Department of Psychology and Communication Studies

208-885-5057

jamiederrick@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Media’s effect on people during a pandemic.

View Jamie's Profile

Dilshani Sarathchandra

Assistant Professor

Department of Sociology and Anthropology

208-885-6664

dilshanis@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Risk perceptions, anticipated public responses and strategies for risk communication.

View Dilshani's Profile

Philosophy

Bert Baumgaertner

Associate Professor

Department of Politics and Philosophy

208-885-5997

bbaum@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Vaccination attitudes, vaccine decision making and vaccine hesitancy.

View Bert's Profile

History

Sean Quinlan

Dean, College of Letters, Arts and Social Sciences

Department of History

208-885-6426

quinlan@uidaho.edu

Expertise: History of science and medicine.

View Sean's Profile

Agriculture/Extension

Lorie Higgins

Professor and U of I Extension Specialist in Moscow

Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology

208-669-1480

higgins@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Rural sociology, community-based decision-making angle of an outbreak.

View Lorie's Profile

Liang "Jimmy" Lu

Assistant Professor

Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology

208-885-5849

llu@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Effect of global economy on agricultural markets.

View Jimmy's Profile

William A. Warren

Associate Professor

U of I Extension Educator in Clearwater County

208-476-4434/208-476-8980 (office); 208-553-1279 (cell)

williamw@uidaho.edu

Expertise: U of I state contact for the Extension Disaster Education Network, a collaborative multi-state effort by Extension Services across the country to provide resources and reduce the impact of disasters through research-based education.

View Bill's Profile

Economics

Department of Business

208-885-7140

tgrieb@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Commodity and stock markets, looking at the bigger financial picture and trends.

View Terry's Profile

Darek Nalle

Co-director of the Barker Trading Program; Instructor

Department of Business

208-885-7342

nalle@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Markets, commodities and stocks.

View Darek's Profile

Steven Peterson

Associate Clinical Professor

Department of Business

208-885-5730

stevenp@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Effects of systemic economic issues on local and regional economies.

View Steven's Profile

Stefanie Ramirez

Assistant Professor

Department of Business

208-885-0104

sramirez@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Governmental policies effect on economies, interest rates.

View Stefanie's Profile

Information Systems

Department of Business

208-885-5940

leveleth@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Rural sociology, community-based decision-making angle of an outbreak.

View Lori's Profile

Mark Rounds

Instructor

Department of Business

208-885-4199

mrounds@uidaho.edu

Expertise: The logistics of cybersecurity and preventing hacks, networking hardware.

View Mark's Profile

Operations Management

Shenghan Xu

Associate Professor

Associate Professor

208-885-1083

shenghan@uidaho.edu

Expertise: Chain management, effects of interruptions in imports and exports on supplies of food, water, medical equipment and disease prevention materials.

View Shenghan Xu's Profile

Vandal Health Clinic

Physical Address:

831 Ash Street
Moscow, ID 83843

Phone: 208-885-6693

Directions to Vandal Health Clinic