University of Idaho - I Banner
A student works at a computer

VandalStar

U of I's web-based retention and advising tool provides an efficient way to guide and support students on their road to graduation. Login to VandalStar.

Committee Information

The Institutional Review Board protects the rights of humans in research and maintains confidentiality of data. History has demonstrated the need for appropriate oversight, which resulted in the regulations we have today. This video provides an overview of the IRB.

Activities that may require IRB review and approval:

  • Surveys and questionnaires
  • Interviews and focus groups
  • Collecting or using data about humans
  • Use of human tissues/specimens
  • Activities involving interaction or intervention with human subjects
  • Data about identifiable living persons when the data is not publicly available
  • Data or specimens that can be linked to an identifiable living person

See FSH 1640.54 and 5200 for a detailed description of IRB functions, membership and human subjects research.

IRB Meeting Schedules

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) meets at 9 a.m. on the first Tuesday of the month, with the exception that January meetings are held once the academic semester begins. Should you wish to attend the meeting, please contact the Office of Research Assurances to verify the meeting time, date and location. You may reach us at 208-885-6340 or irb@uidaho.edu.

Please note that protocols must be submitted two weeks prior to the meeting date.

Committee Members

Sharon Stoll, IRB Chair

Faculty - Health Education P.E. Recreation and Dance
End of Term: 2023
208-885-2103, sstoll@uidaho.edu

Travis Paveglio

Faculty – Natural Resources and Society
End of Term: 2023
208-885-9455, tpaveglio@uidaho.edu

Janice Smith-Hill

Community member- Non-Scientist
End of Term: 2023

Todd Thorsteinson, IRB Vice-Chair

Faculty - Department of Psychology and Communication
End of Term: 2023
208-885-4944, tthorste@uidaho.edu

Russell Baker

Faculty – Department of Movement Sciences
End of Term: 2024
208-885-2065, russellb@uidaho.edu

Anne Kern

Professor Emerita
End of Term: 2024
208-292-1402, akern@uidaho.edu

Alternate Members

Steffen Werner

Alternate, Faculty – Department of Psychology and Communication
End of Term: 2023
208-885-9241, swerner@uidaho.edu

Kenneth Wallen

Alternate, Faculty – Natural Resources and Society
End of Term: 2023
208-885-7132, kwallen@uidaho.edu

Joshua Bailey

Alternate, Faculty – Department of Movement Sciences
End of Term: 2023
208-885-1054, joshuabailey@uidaho.edu

Belinda Sanchez

Alternate, Faculty – Department of Movement Sciences
End of Term: 2024
208-885-7921, belindas@uidaho.edu

Erin Chapman

Alternate, Faculty - Family and Consumer Sciences
End of Term: 2023
208-885-6789, chapman@uidaho.edu

Brian Fowler

Alternate, Faculty - Department of Movement Sciences
End of Term: 2023
208-885-2165

Carrie Roever

Community Member - Non-Scientist
End of Term: 2024

Special Members

Joseph De Angelis

Prisoner Specialist: Voting member only for prisoner-related protocols
Faculty – Sociology and Anthropology
End of Term: 2023
208-885-6705, jtdeangelis@uidaho.edu

Dustin Worth

Medical Specialist: Voting member only for medical-related protocols
Clinical Medicine Coordinator – WWAMI Educational Program
End of Term: 2023
208-885-6696, dworth@uidaho.edu

Kristine Levan

Alternate, Prisoner Specialist: Voting member only for prisoner-related protocols
Faculty – Sociology and Anthropology
End of Term: 2024
208-885-1996, klevan@uidaho.edu

Non-Voting Members

Jennifer Neelon

IRB Coordinator, Office of Research Assurances
Ex-Officio
208-885-6340, jneelon@uidaho.edu

Arch Harner

Assistant Vice President, Research Administration
Ex-Officio
208-885-1074, aharner@uidaho.edu

Office of Research Assurances

Physical Address:

Morrill Hall Room 414
Moscow, ID  83844

Mailing Address:
875 Perimeter Dr., MS 3010
Moscow, ID  83844-3010

Phone: 208-885-6162

Email: ored-ora@uidaho.edu

Web: ORA Website

Map