Student Foundation

Student Foundation FAQs

  • What is the Student Foundation?

    The Student Foundation Board is an organization made up of University of Idaho students. It was created to bridge the gap between current students with alumni, faculty, administration, staff, and University of Idaho supporters. We work to educate students on the importance of giving back to the University by organizing philanthropic events.

  • What does the Student Foundation do?

    The Student Foundation (SF) works to create a culture of giving within the University of Idaho student body. Only 35% of the University’s budget comes from state funds. The SF organizes fundraising events to promote philanthropic giving with a spirit of supporting Vandal traditions.

  • What are some of the Student Foundation activities?
    The Student Foundation works with the University to sponsor events such as the Thank-A-Thon, Senior Class Gift, the Larry E. Craig Endowment Scholarship, and Tag Day.

    Other events that Student Foundation Board members are involved in are the Lionel Hampton Jazz Festival, University of Idaho football games, University Gala, Grad Finale, and graduation.
  • How do students become members of the Student Foundation?
    The Student Foundation (SF) has an open application process every semester, and anyone is welcome to apply. The SF is composed of no fewer than 15 members and no more than 25 active members. In order to be a member of the SF a person needs to have personal interest and time available to devote to the Student Foundation’s activities and philanthropies. In addition, a member must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0, be enrolled in a minimum of 12 credits, attend bi-weekly meetings, and participate in a minimum of two events per semester.

    Click here for an application.
  • Can a member hold any position in the Student Foundation?

    Yes, any member can hold paid positions for the Student Foundation. The following positions are paid a stipend for their leadership role for 5 hours per week. Every year in the spring there are elections for the positions of: President, Vice President of Leadership, Vice President of Stewardship, Vice President of Tradition, and Vice President of Administration.