Contact Us

Women's Center

Women's Center
University of Idaho
Memorial Gym, Rm 109
Fax: 208.885.6285

Mailing Address:
Women's Center
University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 1064
Moscow, ID 83844-1064

Women's Center Conciliation Agreement 40th Anniversary Banner

Conciliation Agreement 40th Anniversary Celebration

Marking the 40th Anniversary of the Signing of the Conciliation Agreement and the 12th annual Virginia Wolf Distinguished Service Awards

Hosted by the Women’s Center; the Office of Human Rights, Access and Inclusion; the Idaho Commons and Student Union (on behalf of Student Health Services), and the Office of Undergraduate Admissions.

The Event

Luncheon with special guest Dr. Sharon Davie,
Founder and Director, University of Virginia Women’s Center
Tuesday, April 1, 12- 2:00 pm
Vandal Ballroom, Student Union Building

Seating is limited to 100 guests. To attend, please email or call the Women’s Center at (208) 885-2777. There is no cost to attend the luncheon, but donations are being accepted to offset the cost of the event. If you would like to make a donation to support the celebration, please send a check payable to “UI Women’s Center” to:

University of Idaho Women’s Center
875 Perimeter Drive MS 1064
Moscow, ID 83844-1064

  • About the Conciliation Agreement

    In May 1973, a core group of members from the Women’s Caucus, an organization that grew out of a campus task force appointed by then-President Ernest Hartung to assess gender discrimination and climate issues at the University of Idaho, filed a formal complaint against the University with the Idaho Human Rights Commission and the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. 

    In May 1974, President Ernest Hartung and nine members of the Women's Caucus core group signed the Conciliation Agreement, detailing several actions the University would take to address numerous climate and discrimination issues for women at the University. In addition to establishing an affirmative action plan, implementing job analysis, awarding back pay for salary inequity, and mandating equal starting salaries for men and women, the Conciliation Agreement had important implications for several important offices on campus:
    • The Women’s Center, which had already opened its doors two years before, was awarded permanent funding for a full-time director;
    • The High School Relations Program (now called the Office of Undergraduate Admissions) was established to implement good faith efforts to recruit and retain women students;
    • The Affirmative Action Office (now the Office of Human Rights, Access and Inclusion) was founded to ensure equal employment opportunities at the University for women and other underrepresented populations;
    • The University Student Health Center (now Student Health Services) and the University Counseling Center (now the Counseling and Testing Center) were required to make good faith efforts to secure and retain female professionals at both locations.
    Forty years later, these campus offices are still going strong, and provide critical services to all students at the University of Idaho. Join us on April 1 to celebrate forty years of a job well done, and to toast future successes!
    Read more about the Conciliation Agreement.
  • Virginia Wolf Distinguished Service Awards

    The 12th annual Virginia Wolf Distinguished Service Awards will be presented at the luncheon. Virginia (Ginny) Wolf was a professor of Physical Education at the University of Idaho from 1964-1982. Ginny took an active role in addressing issues affecting women on campus, including chairing the Women’s Caucus and helping to launch the campaign that brought about the establishment of a permanent Women’s Center. 

    This award was created in 2002 to recognize individuals like Ginny whose continuous dedication to activism for gender justice brings about lasting change. It is given to those who reflect a similar level of commitment and demonstrated activism that Ginny gave 40 years ago.  Each year, one student, one faculty or staff member, and one community member receive the award.

    The Nominees for the 2014 Awards

    Hannah Caldwell
    Kaitlin Moroney
    Samantha Hansen

    Julia Keleher
    Julie Taylor
    Maggie Rehm
    Ryanne Pilgeram
    Yolanda Bisbee

    Community Members
    Deb Payne
    Sami Sumpter