Announcing the 2012 Outstanding Staff Award Recipients

Monday, March 19 2012

Staff Affairs is pleased to announce the recipients of our 2012 Outstanding Staff Awards. These awards are given to staff who’ve shown exemplary dedication and gone above and beyond normal job duties at the University of Idaho. Staff who qualify for the award are nominated by peers and reviewed through an award process conducted by the Staff Affairs Staff Awards Subcommittee and past recipients of the award.

Please mark your calendar to attend the Awards Ceremony scheduled for Friday, April 6, 2012 from 1 to 3 p.m. in the SUB Ballroom. Additionally, those retiring from the University of Idaho will receive a plaque and clock and longevity awards will be given for 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years of service. Please visit our website at and click on the Outstanding Staff Awards to view a list of those employees that will be honored for longevity.

Exempt Outstanding Recipients
Romuald Kodjotse Afatchao, Martin Institute
Pamela Brunsfeld, College of Natural Resources
Guy Esser, Facilities
Brenda Helbling, Academic Affairs – Provost
Bridget Morrisroe-Aman, Southern District Extension, College of Ag & Life Sciences
John “Jay” Pengilly, College of Art and Architecture
Technical Professional Outstanding Recipients
Lisha Abendroth, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Program
Debbie Caudle, Idaho Falls Center for Higher Education
Denise Engebrecht, Boise Center for Higher Education
Karen Gillespie, College of Business and Economics

Clerical/Secretarial Outstanding Recipients
Denise Chaffins, College of Business and Economics
Amber Gray, Department of Accounting
Julie Haarr, Conservation Social Sciences

Skilled Craft Outstanding Recipient
Ben Aiman, Idaho Commons and Student Union

Service/Maintenance Outstanding Recipient
Linda Hanson, University Housing

Lawrence C. McBride Prize Outstanding Recipient
Cherryl Sodorff, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

Team Award Outstanding Recipients
The Hays 2nd Floor Naval Science Refurbish Team consisting of: Brad Baker, Interiors Technician; H. Stephen Curry, Interiors Technician; Thad Gilkey, Electrician; Greg Goodson, HVAC; Kenneth Hites, Hazmat Abatement Coordinator; Dave Johnson, Interiors Technician; Doug Olson, Steam Plant; Gary Pope, Plumber; Matt Proctor, Electrician; Bart Schumacker, Interiors Technician; Luke Sprague, ITS; Greg Thomas, Electrician; Rick Wilkins, HVAC; Tom Witt, University Access Coordinator; and Troy Zumwalt, Steam Plant

Staff Educational Award Recipients
Taylor Johnson (nominated by mother Kelly Boles Johnson, Student Accounts/Cashiers), Sydney Moore (nominated by mother Sara Moore, Idaho Falls Center for Higher Education), and Shane Willis (nominated by mother Dayna Willis, Plant, Soil and Entomological Sciences)