students walk on University of Idaho campus

Visit U of I

Learn about the many reasons the University of Idaho could be a perfect fit for you. Schedule Your Visit

Parents on campus during orientation

Homecoming Oct. 1-7

Join other Vandal families for a week of celebration and Vandal traditions. View Calendar

campus full of students

U of I Retirees Association

UIRA has a membership of nearly 500 from every part of the University. Learn More

Contact Us

Jan Johnson, Chair

Mailing Address:


Ubuntu is the University of Idaho's guiding philosophy that emphasizes the interconnectedness of being human and living in interdependent communities. We place a high premium on dignity, compassion, humaneness and respect for humanity and each other — every member of our university community.

The committee focuses on the needs of students, staff and faculty to enhance the experience of academic and work life with particular attention to under-represented groups on campus.


  • Review university policy and programs affecting under-represented and/or under-served students in consultation with various representatives from student services and programs
  • Recommend changes and additions to university policies and programs that enhance student academic success
  • Promote values of respect, understanding and equality within a diverse university experience


Sabreena Nasrin 
Student (under-rep/served)(GPSA/SBA)

Ayo Popoola
ASUI Director of Diversity Affairs (or designee)

Amy Taylor
Dir/Disab. Support Services (or designee)

John Myers
Coord/Stud. Support Services (or designee)

Alejandra Gonazalez 
Dir./Multicultural Affairs (or designee)

Lysa Salsbury
Dir./Women's Center (or designee)

Yolanda Bisbee
Dir./Diversity and Equity (chief diversity officer)

Laila Cornwall
Dir./International Programs (or designee)

Julia Keleher
LGBTQA Coordinator (or designee)

Elissa Keim
Human Resources Rep. (or designee)

Sydel Samuels
Dir./Native American Student Center (or designee)

Contact Us

Jan Johnson, Chair

Mailing Address:

Contact Us

Jan Johnson, Chair

Mailing Address: