M. Citation Penalties and Assessment

All parking citations must be paid or appealed within 15 days of issuance. Unpaid citations may result in:

  1. University account holds and other collection-related activities
  2. Vehicle immobilization and/or impound (see Section O)
  3. Ineligibility to purchase a new permit or a current permit to be revoked (see Section E)

After 15 days, unpaid citations require payment; the fine amount will be assessed as follows:


Citations issued to vehicles registered
with University of Idaho Parking and Transportation Services will be attached to the employee or students account who is associated with the license plate number

  • For students, monetary penalties may result in a hold being placed on student records, which affects the ability to register for the following semester, or receive a diploma


Citations issued to vehicles not registered
with University of Idaho Parking and Transportation Services will be assessed as follows:

  • If a University of Idaho parking permit was displayed at the time the citation was issued, the fine amount will be assessed to the parking permit owner

  • If no University of Idaho parking permit was displayed at the time the citation was issued, the fine amount and an additional $15 Discovery Fee may be assessed to the registered vehicle owner, company, corporation, or firm in whose name the vehicle is registered through the Idaho Department of Licensing, or the corresponding agency of another state or nation