PERSONAL AND PROFESSIONAL VITA

Jean'ne M. Shreeve March 2010

Education:

B.A. (Chemistry), 1953, University of Montana

M.S. (Analytical Chemistry), 1956, University of Minnesota (E. B. Sandell)

Ph.D. (Inorganic Chemistry), 1961, University of Washington (G. H. Cady)

Post Ph. D., 1967-68, University of Cambridge, England (H. J. Emeléus)

Experience:

Assistant Professor of Chemistry, University of Idaho, 1961-65.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry, University of Washington, Summer 1962.

Associate Professor of Chemistry, University of Idaho, 1965-67.

Professor of Chemistry, University of Idaho, 1967-73.

Acting Head, Department of Chemistry, University of Idaho, 1st Sem., 1969-70, Summer 1973.

Professor and Head, Department of Chemistry, University of Idaho, 1973-87.

Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies, and Professor of Chemistry, University of Idaho, October 1987-December 1999.

Professor of Chemistry, University of Idaho, 2000 - date.

Jean'ne M. Shreeve Professor of Chemistry, University of Idaho, July 2004- date.

Organizations:

American Chemical Society - Washington-Idaho Border Section, Secretary-treasurer, 1964-65; chairman-elect, 1965-66; chairman, 1966-67, 1972-73. Regional ACS Meeting: Chairman of Inorganic Division, June 1967, June1980. National: Chairman-elect, Chairman, and Past Chairman, Fluorine Division, 1969-71. Councilor, Fluorine Division, 1973-78. Women Chemists Committee, 1972-77. Committee on Committees, 1975-77. PRF Advisory Board, 1975-77. Council Policy Committee, 1978, 1980-84; Vice-Chairman, 1983-84. Councilor, Inorganic Division, 1979-84. Committee on Science, 1982-84; 2000-03. Board of Directors (Region VI), 1985-93. Executive Committee of Board, 1989-91. Budget & Finance Committee, 1993-95. Development Advisory Committee, 1992-1995.

American Association for the Advancement of Science - Chemistry Section -

Councilor 1977-83; Member-At-Large, 1983-87; Secretary, 1984-88; Chairman-Elect, 1988; Chairman, 1989; Retiring Chairman, 1990. **National:** AAAS Board of Directors, 1991-95. Member, AAAS Committee on Nominations, 2000-02.

Memberships:

American Chemical Society American Association for the Advancement of Science Association of Women in Science Royal Society of Chemistry Idaho Academy of Science, President, 1978-79

Iota Sigma Pi (National Director, 1972-75)

Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Kappa Phi

Sigma Delta Epsilon

Sigma Xi

Special Awards/Assignments:

National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship at Cambridge, 1967-68.

U.S. Honorary Ramsay Fellowship, 1967-68.

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellow, 1970-72.

Distinguished Alumni Award - University of Montana, 1970.

Sigma Xi Research Award (Idaho Chapter) - 1st place, 1970, 1979; 2nd place, 1969, 1973.

Phi Beta Kappa – Honorary Membership, 1971.

American Chemical Society Garvan Medal, 1972.

Honorary Alumnus, University of Idaho, 1972.

Phi Kappa Phi – Distinguished Member - 1974.

Member, Editorial Advisory Boards - J. Fluorine Chem., 1970-2003; Acc. Chem. Res., 1973-75; Inorg. Syn., 1976 - ; Heteroatom Chem., 1988-1995.

Outstanding Achievement Award, University of Minnesota, 1975.

Air Force Office of Scientific Research Proposal Evaluation Panel, 1972-75.

American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund Advisory Board, 1975-77.

Lucy W. Pickett Lecturer, Mt. Holyoke College, May 1976.

Visiting Professor - University of Bristol, England, Fall 1977.

U.S. Senior Scientist Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, 1978, Göttingen.

Guest Professor - University of Göttingen, Germany, 1978.

American Chemical Society Award for Creative Work in Fluorine Chemistry, 1978.

National Science Foundation Advisory Committee for Chemistry, 1978-82.

Idaho Academy of Science – President, 1979

Manufacturing Chemists Association College Chemistry Teaching Award, 1979.

American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow, 1980.

University of Idaho Distinguished Faculty Award, 1980.

Argonne National Laboratory AUA Review Committee, Chemistry Division, 1980-86, Chairman, 1983.

First NSF National Main Group Chemistry Workshop, 1982.

Honorary Doctor of Science, University of Montana, 1982.

University of Montana Alumni Association - Board of Directors, 1979-86; Vice-President 1983; President-elect 1984; President 1985.

Iota Sigma Pi, National Honorary Member, 1984.

Presidential Citation for Distinguished Achievement, University of Idaho, 1984.

Council for International Exchange of Scholars (Fulbright Awards), Discipline Screening Committee, Chemistry, 1984-87; Chairman, 1986.

Harry and Carol Mosher Award, Santa Clara Valley Section (ACS), 1992.

First George H. Cady Lecturer, University of Washington, 1993.

University of Chicago Board of Governors for Argonne National Laboratory, 1992-98.

Council for Chemical Research, Governing Board, 1995-97.

Visiting Committee, Naval Research Advisory Committee, Office of Naval Research, 1995.

Corresponding Member, Göttingen (Germany) Academy of Sciences (Elected 1996).

Strategic Environmental Research and Development Program, Scientific Advisory Board, 1997-2003, (Vice Chair, 1997-03).

National Research Council Committee on INEEL High Level Waste Alternate Treatments, 1998-99.

Committee of Visitors Review, National Science Foundation Major Research Instrumentation Program (Chair) 2000.

Award for Excellence in Research, University of Idaho, 2000.

Award for Faculty Excellence (Academic Development of Undergraduates), University of Idaho, 2000.

Distinguished Scientist - 2001, Idaho Academy of Science, 2001.

Idaho Hall of Fame, 2001.

National Research Council Committee on Advanced Energetic Materials and Manufacturing Technologies, 2001-03.

University of Montana Foundation Board of Trustees, 2001-2007.

National Research Council Committee on Explosives Detection, 2003.

President's Committee on the National Medal of Science, Chair, 2003-2007.

Shirley B. Radding Award, Santa Clara Valley Section of the American Chemical Society, 2003.

National Science Foundation – Two-Year Extension for Special Creativity (to grant CHE-0315275 – additional \$315,000), 2005.

National EPSCoR Foundation, Chair, 2007.

EPSCoR, Idaho State Committee, 1985-2008. Project Director, 1986-2008.

Patents:

1. Shreeve, Jean'ne M; Yang, Jing-Jing; Kirchmeier, Robert L. "Trifluoromethylating Reagents and Synthesizing Processes," U. S. Patent 6,215,021 (April 10, 2001).

Publications:

468 in refereed journals.