

CNR Awards 2019-2020

Outstanding Students

Overall Outstanding CNR Undergraduate Student

Danny King

Overall Outstanding CNR Graduate Student

Carl Lundblad

MOSS Outstanding Graduate Student

Leoncia Cruz

Spring 2020 Commencement Feature Student

Janelle Nelson

Environmental Science

Outstanding Senior - Environmental Science

Daniel King

Outstanding Graduate (M.S.) - Environmental Science

Averie Lavoie

Fish and Wildlife Sciences

Outstanding Senior - Fishery Resources

Jordan Everson

Outstanding Senior - Wildlife Resources

Isabel McGuigan

Outstanding Graduate (Ph.D.) - Fishery Resources

Sarah Burnet

Outstanding Graduate (Ph.D.) - Wildlife Resources

Carl Lundblad



Forest, Rangeland and Fire Sciences

Outstanding Senior - Fire Ecology and Management

Dillon G. Alexander

Outstanding Undergraduate - Forestry

Hailey J. Danly

Outstanding Senior - Rangeland Conservation

Dan Lauritzen

Outstanding Senior - Renewable Materials

Talbot B. Rueppel

Outstanding Graduate (M.S.) - Forest, Rangeland and Fire Sciences

Halli J. Hemingway

Outstanding Graduate (Ph.D.) - Forest, Rangeland and Fire Sciences

Kristina J. Bartowitz

Natural Resources and Society

Outstanding Senior - Natural Resources and Society

Karl Meyer

Outstanding Senior - Ecology and Conservation Biology

Zach Sanchez

Outstanding Graduate Student (Ph.D.) - Natural Resources and Society

Andy Maguire

Outstanding Club

S.A.F.E

Outstanding Faculty, Staff and Alumni Awards Outstanding Research Award

Tara Hudiburg



Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award

Jan Eitel

Outstanding Instructor Award

Kerri Vierling

Outstanding Continuing Education & Service Award

Jason Karl

Outstanding Staff Award

Elise Kokenge

Alumni Achievement Award

Niko Balkenhol

CNR Mid-Career Alumni Achievement Award

Morgan Varner

Honor Associate Alumni Award

Walter Dunn

Honor Alumni Award

Kathryn Roeder John Takekawa Greg Brown

International Alumni Achievement Award

José Courrau A

Bridge Builder Award

Dusty Perkins

Celebrating Natural Resources Award

Jeanne Higgins

University Level Awards



Lee Vierling received the 2020 University Distinguished Professor Award, which is the highest award bestowed upon faculty at the University of Idaho.

Ken Cain received the 2020 Excellence in Research and Creative Activity Award for his groundbreaking work in fisheries and aquiculture.

Karla Eitel received the 2020 Presidential Mid-Career Faculty Award for her outstanding achievements in scholarship, teaching, and engagement in environmental and Indigenous pedagogy.

Teresa Cohn received the 2020 Teaching Excellence Award for her outstanding contributions to the McCall Outdoor Science School (MOSS).

Jason Karl and **Karen Launchbaugh** (and others in CALS and COE) received the 2020 Excellence in Interdisciplinary and Collaborative Efforts Award for their innovative work with virtual fencing and cattle grazing.

Natasha Wingerter received the 2020 Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award for her contributions in fisheries.

Betsy Delph received the 2020 *University of Idaho Employee of the Year Award* for her tireless and inspiring work on the McCall Field Campus.

Jon Patton and **the employees at the UI-McCall Field Campus** received the 2020 University of Idaho Outstanding Team of the Year Award for their terrific work to keep educational programs running during a 3-week campus shutdown due to unusually heavy snow and treefall.

Student Achievement Awards

Outstanding Sophomore

Jacob VonBargen - Fire Ecology and Management, Forestry

Outstanding Junior, Dean Vettrus Scholarship, George E. Dafoe Memorial Award Lauren Carlsen - Environmental Science

Outstanding Junior, Student Employee of the Year

Madi Thurston - Environmental Science

Outstanding Junior

Sierra Brantz - Environmental Science, International Studies

Ismat Ara & Dr. Abdul Mannan Sheikh Memorial Book Scholarship

Nisha Chapagain - Environmental Science

Student Employee of the Year

Joy Billings - Wildlife Resources