Contact Us

Women's Center

Women's Center
University of Idaho
Memorial Gym, Rm 109
Fax: 208.885.6285

Mailing Address:
Women's Center
University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 1064
Moscow, ID 83844-1064

Virginia Wolf Awards Banner

Virginia Wolf Awards

The 2015 Awards Reception will be held on
Wednesday, April 15, 2015 from 5:30-7:00 pm
in the Vandal Ballroom, 2nd floor
of the Bruce M. Pitman Center
(Student Union Building), Deakin Ave.

Virginia Wolf Distinguished Service Awards

Every year, the University of Idaho Women’s Center hosts a celebration to honor the recipients of our Virginia Wolf Distinguished Service Awards. Candidates are nominated for the award via an open nomination process. Selection of awardees is by a review panel composed of past honorees.

About the Virginia Wolf Awards

Virginia (Ginny) Wolf was a professor of Physical Education at the University of Idaho from 1964-1982. Ginny took an active role in addressing issues affecting women on campus, including chairing the U-Idaho Women’s Caucus and helping to launch the campaign that brought about the establishment of a permanent Women’s Center. This award was created in 2002 to recognize individuals like Ginny whose continuous dedication to activism for gender justice brings about lasting change. It is given to those who reflect a similar level of commitment and demonstrated activism that Ginny gave more than 30 years ago.  Each year, usually one student, one faculty or staff member and one community member receive the award.

Award recipients to date

2002 - Emily Sly (student), Kay Keskinen (staff)
2003 - Lori van Buggenum (student), Debbie Storrs (faculty)
2004 - No awards given
2005 - Selena Lloyd (student), Betsy Thomas and Valerie Russo (staff)
2006 - Cassie Searle (student), Kathy Aiken (faculty), Ginny Foote (community member)
2007 - James French (student), Traci Craig (faculty), Mary Jo Hamilton (community member)
2008 - Tara Malmquist (student), Liz Brandt (faculty), Amy Stone Ford (community member)
2009 - Anne-Marije Rook (student), Rebecca Rod (staff), Joann Muneta (community member), Jeannie Harvey (lifetime activist)
2010 - Rachel Todd (student), Francesca Sammarruca (faculty), Liz Sullivan (community member)
2011 - Lynn McAlister (student), Chelsia Rice (student), Christine Moffitt (faculty), Christopher Bidiman (community member)
2012 - Micah Kehrein (student), Jane Lear (staff), Jama Sebald (community member)
2013 - Whitney Chapman (student), Colleen Kulesza (student), Virginia Solan (staff), Heather Shea Gasser (staff), Lela Ames (community member)
2014 - Kaitlin Moroney (student), Yolanda Bisbee (staff), Deb Payne (community member)


The nomination period for the 2015 Virginia Wolf Distinguished Service Awards is now closed. Please join us for the reception honoring our award recipients on Wednesday, April 15 from 5:30-7:00 pm in the Vandal Ballroom, Bruce M. Pitman Center.


Nominations are reviewed by an awards committee composed of past honorees. Women’s Center staff members serve as advisers to the nominations review committee, but do not participate in the review process.

Virginia Wolf Service Awards