Contact Us


Department of Mathematics
phone: (208) 885-6742
fax: (208) 885-5843
300 Brink Hall

Mailing Address
875 Perimeter Drive, MS 1103
Moscow, ID 83844-1103

Professor studies equations on a classroom blackboard.

Financial Aid & Scholarships

For Undergraduate Mathematics Majors

  1. Eugene and Osa Taylor Scholarship
    Eugene Taylor was head of the Mathematics Department from 1920 until his retirement in 1950. He died in Moscow in 1973 at the age of 93. His son John Taylor and his grandson John Taylor received bachelor's degrees from the Mathematics Department. In 1979 his sons Paul and John Taylor established this endowed scholarship in memory of their parents.

    The scholarships are based on merit. The recipient must be a mathematics major entering the junior or senior year. Recipients are selected by the faculty in mathematics in amounts at their discretion from the available income.

  2. J. Lawrence Botsford Memorial Fund
    This endowed scholarship was given by his family in memory of Larry Botsford, a long-time faculty member in mathematics.

    Awards are made to students majoring in mathematics or a closely related field who are entering their senior year. The recipients are selected by the faculty of the Department of Mathematics. The amount of each award is determined by the faculty in mathematics, but must be no less than $100 per award.

  3. Linn Hower Honor Scholarship
    This scholarship is endowed by Mildred and Loyal L. Hower in honor of their son L. Linn Hower, who graduated with honors with a B.S. in mathematics in May 1979.

    The recipient must be a junior or senior enrolled full-time in the Department of Mathematics and majoring in mathematics or applied mathematics with a computation or scientific option and with intention of applying mathematics in a physical or biological science field. The recipient must be a graduate of an Idaho high school. If possible, preference is given to native Idahoans from rural Idaho. The recipeint must have a high potential for success in a mathematics or scientific field other than teaching at the elementary or high school level. Financial need shall not be a consideration. The scholarship may be renewed for a second year if the recipient reapplies and remains otherwise eligible. Recipients are selected by the faculty in mathematics.

  4. The Ya-Yen Wang Memorial Scholarship Endowment
    Ya-Yen Wang was Professor of Mathematics at the University of Idaho. This scholarship was founded in her memory at the time of her death in 1995 by family members.

    These scholarships in the amount of $1000 are available to junior and senior mathematics majors. Preference is given to women. Selection is based solely on merit, as determined by the Mathematics Department Scholarship Committee.

  5. The Clancy and Barbara Potratz Mathematics Education Scholarship
    This $1000 scholarship will be available to full time students majoring in the Department of Mathematics. Students with sophomore, junior, or senior standing are eligible. First preference will be given to students preparing for a career teaching mathematics at the middle through high school levels.

  6. Rose W. and Emil C. Helmholz Centennial Scholarship
    Established in 1987 by Angeline Elder, daughter of Rose and Emil Helmholz. The Helmholzes moved to Sandpoint, Idaho, from Wisconsin in 1909 and operated a dairy farm until they retired to Renton, Washington in 1953.

    In accordance with the Helmholzes' desire to leave a lasting contribution to higher education, the scholarship is granted annually to the female student majoring in chemistry, mathematics, or physics who has the highest grade point average at the conclusion of her junior year.

  7. The Mathematics Department Scholarship
    This scholarship is not endowed, but is awarded from funds donated each year. Donations are made by department faculty, alumni, and friends. The recipient must be a freshman of sophomore student majoring in mathematics.