The University

The University of Idaho was created in 1889 by a statute of the 15th territorial legislature.  
Commonly known as the university charter, that act became part of the state constitution when Idaho was admitted to the
Union in 1890.

The university is a publicly supported comprehensive land-grant institution with principal  responsibility in Idaho for performing research and granting the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree.
The liberal arts and sciences, offered through the College of Letters, Arts and Social Science and
the College of Science, are the heart of the university's educational programs.  The primary areas
of statewide responsibility of the university are agriculture, architecture, engineering, natural
resources, foreign languages, and law.

Additional university responsibilities include programs in business, economics, and education as
well as the regional medical and veterinary medical education programs in which the state

To assist with its statewide mission, the university maintains resident instruction centers in
Coeur d'Alene, Boise, and Idaho Falls, extension offices in 42 of Idaho's 44 counties, research and
extension centers in Aberdeen, Caldwell, Dubois, Idaho Falls, Kimberly, Moscow, Parma, Salmon,
Sandpoint, Tetonia, and Twin Falls, and field stations at McCall, Point Springs, and the Taylor
Ranch in central Idaho.  Through its international programs, the university extends its services to
many other countries.

Each year over 11,600 students from all states and more than 90 foreign countries choose programs
from a vast array of disciplines.  Strong undergraduate programs are coupled with nationally
recognized research and scholarly achievements.  There are more than 870 faculty members in
teaching and research, and 1,400 staff and professional personnel.

The University Library and the Law Library contain over 2 million items of books, bound
periodicals, microforms, and U.S. government publications.   These resources, together with the
libraries at Washington State University (eight miles to the west), equal those of major
metropolitan areas.

The Moscow campus and adjacent farms cover nearly 800 acres.  Other university lands, including the
nearby university farms and experimental forests, exceed 10,000 acres.

The university is proud of its friendly campus atmosphere and sense of community.  For example, the
tradition of "Hello Walk" leading to the Administration Building dates from the 1920s, when the
university president greeted students and members of the faculty and staff with a warm hello and
friendly smile on his way to work.  By end of summer, 2007 the university will have granted more
than 100,000 degrees since its founding, including more than
2,700 in 2006.

The feeling of camaraderie that pervades the campus extends to Moscow, the university's "hometown."
 It is a thriving community of 21,000 friendly people located in the northern part of the state
about 90 miles southeast of Spokane, Washington.

Moscow is the gateway to a natural wonderland.  The surrounding Palouse hills and the mountains and
lakes of northern Idaho provide a scenic background for university facilities.  Skiing, boating,
and other outdoor recreation resources  are  available  within  easy  driving  distance.    They  
include  the  Sawtooth  and  Hells  Canyon  national recreation areas, Frank Church River of No
Return Wilderness, and scenic rivers such as the Snake, Clearwater, Salmon, Lochsa, and Selway.

The university is a member of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant
Colleges and is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.  Additional
approval or accreditation for specific programs has been granted by the following organizations:  
American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business, American Bar Association, American Chemical
Society, American Dietetics Association, Association of American Law Schools, Accreditation Board
for Engineering and Technology, Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs,
Computer Science Accreditation Commission of the Computing Sciences Accreditation Board (bachelor's
degree in computer science), Council on Rehabilitation Education, National Association of Schools
of Art and Design, National Architectural Accrediting Board, American Society of Landscape
Architects, National Association of Schools of Music, National Council for Accreditation of Teacher
Education, Society of American Foresters, Society for Wood Science and Technology, Society for
Range Management, National Association of School Psychologists, the Council for the Accreditation
of Counseling and Related Educational Programs, National Recreation  and  Park  Association  
Council  on  Accreditation,  Liaison  Committee  on  Medical  Education,  National
Association for Education of Young Children, and the PGA Professional Golfers Association of