Administration Building
Room 105
P.O. Box 443152
Moscow, ID 83844-3152
Phone: (208) 885-6448
Fax: (208) 885-6558

Katherine G. Aiken

Katherine G. Aiken is the Interim Provost and Executive Vice President at the University of Idaho. Aiken has served as the dean of the College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences since 2006 and has worked at the University of Idaho for 25 years.  Aiken is a professor of history and currently serves on the Idaho State Board of Education's Professional Standards Commission and as chair for the Idaho Humanities Council.
Katherine Aiken
She's won 15 teaching awards including the University of Idaho Award for Teaching excellence, and has been named the ATHENA Woman of the Year. Aiken was the recipient of Boise State University's Women Making History Award and the Virginia Woolf Distinguished Service Award from the University of Idaho Women's Center.

Aiken is a renowned scholar in her field who has published three books: Idaho: The Heroic Journey with Kevin Marsh and Laura Woodworth-Ney; Idaho’s Bunker Hill: The Rise and Fall of a Great Mining Company, 1885-1981; and Harnessing the Power of Motherhood: The National Florence Crittenton Mission, 1883-1925.  Her scholarship also includes many book chapters and journal articles.  Even while working as an administrator, Aiken has continued to do research and has published books and articles.   

Aiken will serve as Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for the University while a successful search is conducted for the permanent position. As such she is responsible for oversight of all academic programs and the coordination of the activities of the University’s vice presidents.

Aiken received a bachelor’s degree in history from the University of Idaho in 1972. She earned her master’s degree in history from the University of Oregon in 1974 and her doctoral degree from Washington State University in 1980.  In addition to instructional roles, Aiken has also served as an associate dean and director of extended learning at Lewis-Clark State College, chair of History at UI and associate dean for both the UI Colleges of Graduate Studies and Letters, Arts and Social Sciences.