UI CAA Announces Winners of 23rd Annual High School Art Competition

Wednesday, February 26 2014

MOSCOW, Idaho – The University of Idaho is pleased to announce winners of the 23rd Annual High School Art Competition sponsored by the College of Art and Architecture’s Art and Design program. The theme for this year’s artwork is "STEM to STEAM” Adding the Arts to STEM.

“Learning in the arts leads to more flexible approaches in problem solving, a greater willingness to take risks, and gives expression to human feelings and spirit,” said Sally Machlis, program chair of the art and design program. “This is a theme that is rich with visual implications. It’s exciting to see students exploring this concept in a variety of ways — literally, metaphorically and whimsically.”

Artwork from participating high schools will be exhibited in Ridenbaugh Hall on the UI campus until Feb. 28. Awards went to the following students at a reception on Friday, Feb. 21, 2014:

First Place Winne
r - $1000 UI Scholarship and $150 gift certificate
Ginerva Atti, Skyview High School

People’s Choice Award - iPad
Orion Goetzinger, Sandpoint HS

Second Place Prize
- $100 gift certificate
Sarah Chandler, Kootenai High School
Marissa Fogg, Post Falls High School

Third Place - $75 gift certificate
Johnny Gatens, Bonners Ferry High School
Dusty Almas, Post Falls High School
Hannah Johnson, Coeur d’ Alene High School
Maranda Berger, Kellogg High School

Honorable Mentions
Anika Blackmore, Bonners Ferry High School
Cailyn Knudtsen, Coeur d’ Alene High School
Michael Ortman, Coeur d’ Alene Charter Academy
Jenna McGady, Eagle High School
Lysse Nice, Filer High School
Ashley Walker, Hillcrest High School
Kaitlyn Richards, Hillcrest High School
Kimberly Vincent, Homedale High School
Hannah Kafka, Idaho Arts Charter School
Krisee Wilson, Idaho Falls High School
Connor Marquette, Juniper Hills High School
Courtney Haughn, Kellogg High School
Jamie Park, Lakeland High School
Alee Henry, Lapwai School
Viviana Nunez, Malad High School
Misti Martinez, Meadows Valley High School
Samantha Reed, Middleton High School
Savvy Cook, Mountain Home High School
Ksyenya Peterson, Mountain Home High School
Autumn Hastell, Mountain View High School
Anna Nesbitt, Payette River Regional Technical Academy
Tyler Hankerson, Prairie High School
Katelyn Halpin, Sandpoint High School
Orion Goetzinger, Sandpoint High School
Sierra Bowen, Skyview High School
Samantha Mueller, Saint Maries High School
Sierra Harken, Timberlake High School
Amber Sproles, Wallace High School

The art and design program would like to thank the following schools for their participation: Borah High School, Gooding High School, Notus High School, Parma High School, Potlatch High School and Xavier Charter Academy.

Holly Funk
College of Art and Architecture
(208) 364-4569

About the University of Idaho
The University of Idaho helps students to succeed and become leaders. Its land-grant mission furthers innovative scholarly and creative research to grow Idaho's economy and serve a statewide community. From its main campus in Moscow, Idaho, to 70 research and academic locations statewide, U-Idaho emphasizes real-world application as part of its student experience. U-Idaho combines the strength of a large university with the intimacy of small learning communities. It is home to the Vandals. For information, visit www.uidaho.edu.