Honoring Excellence: University of Idaho Honors Faculty, Establishes University Distinguished Professor Rank

Tuesday, April 19 2011

MOSCOW, Idaho – The University of Idaho honored three longtime faculty members with the newly established rank of University Distinguished Professor during the institution’s annual Excellence Awards Monday, April 18, at the Moscow campus.

Dan Bukvich, professor of music; Mike Scott, professor of fish and wildlife; and Jean’ne Shreeve, professor of chemistry, were selected as the inaugural recipients of the new academic rank.

“The University of Idaho is known for student success and statewide leadership because of the investment we make in our disciplines,” said M. Duane Nellis, president. “Our faculty excellence is recognized and honored nationally and internationally, but even in the midst of our remarkable faculty, there are those individuals who serve as exemplars. They define excellence in very exceptional ways.”

The new rank will be bestowed to recognize “sustained excellence, as judged by peers, in scholarly, creative, and artistic achievement; breadth and depth of teaching in their discipline; and university service as well as service involving the application of scholarship, creative, or artistic activities that address the needs of one or more external publics.”

• Dan Bukvich, professor of music in the Lionel Hampton School of Music in the College of Letters, Arts and Social Sciences, joined the university in 1977 and has been internationally recognized as a composer in a variety of musical genres. He is a renowned arranger, performer and scholar, as well as a sought-after guest conductor, clinician and percussionist. He established the university’s annual Holiday Concert that reaches out to include choirs ranging from elementary to college age from around the region who soar under his tutelage. He has been the recipient of numerous honors and awards.

• Mike Scott, professor of fish and wildlife resources in the College of Natural Resources, joined the University of Idaho in 1986. He developed the method of gap analysis for conservation planning, a method that is now a globally recognized conservation management tool. An active researcher, Scott has authored nine books and more than 200 papers. He was an early adopter of cross-disciplinary teaching and research, and mentored not only students but junior faculty. He is the recipient of more than 20 national and international awards.

• Jean’ne Shreeve, professor of chemistry in the College of Science, has produced numerous developments through her research, including the new syntheses of fluoronitrogen compounds. She has authored nearly 500 peer-reviewed papers for some of the most prestigious chemical journals. In service to the University of Idaho, she has been a professor, department chair, and vice president for research and graduate studies. In 2010, she was named a Fellow of the American Chemical Society.
Upon retirement from the university, the honorees will have the title University Distinguished Professor Emeritus/a. They also will receive a stipend for each of five years to use for research, student support, equipment or professional activities.

Monday night’s Excellence Awards program honored 22 faculty, staff and students for outstanding achievements in teaching, research, outreach and advising.

Research or Creative Activity Excellence Award
• Sanford Eigenbrode, professor, plant, soil and entomological sciences, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

Advising Excellence Awards
• Dana Stover, assistant dean for recruitment, retention and assessment, College of Business and Economics
• Carrie Barron, academic and administrative services coordinator, College of Natural Resources

Teaching Excellence Awards
• Michael Kyte, professor, civil engineering, College of Engineering
• John Lawrence, professor, business, College of Business and Economics
• Wendy McClure, professor, architecture and interior design, College of Art and Architecture

Hoffman Award in Teaching Excellence
• Stacey Camp, assistant professor, sociology and anthropology, College of Letters, Arts and Social Sciences

Interdisciplinary or Collaborative Efforts Excellence Awards
• National Science Foundation Integrative Graduate Education and Research Traineeship – or IGERT – Principal Investigators’ Team: Nilsa Bosque Pérez, Lisette Waits, Jo Ellen Force, Penny Morgan, J.D. Wulfhorst and Sanford Eigenbrode. The team represents the colleges of Graduate Studies, Natural Resources, and Agricultural and Life Sciences.

• Larry Forney, professor, biological sciences, College of Science

Outreach and Engagement Excellence Award
• Laura Laumatia, assistant professor and Extension educator, Coeur d’Alene Extension Reservation, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

Donald Crawford Graduate Faculty Mentoring Award
• Karen Humes, professor, geography, College of Science

Outstanding Graduate Student Research and Creative Activity Awards
• D. Alex Patthoff, College of Science
• Molly K. Schultz, College of Letters, Arts and Social Sciences

Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Awards
• Jeremy Yoder, College of Science
• Ginny Winston, College of Letters, Arts and Social Sciences
# # #

About the University of Idaho
Founded in 1889, the University of Idaho is the state’s land-grant institution and its principal graduate education and research university, bringing insight and innovation to the state, the nation and the world. University researchers attract nearly $100 million in research grants and contracts each year. The University of Idaho is the only institution in the state to be classified by the prestigious Carnegie Foundation as high research activity. The student population of 12,000 includes first-generation college students and ethnically diverse scholars, who select from more than 130 degree options in the colleges of Agricultural and Life Sciences; Art and Architecture; Business and Economics; Education; Engineering; Law; Letters, Arts and Social Sciences; Natural Resources; and Science. The university also is charged with the statewide mission for medical education through the WWAMI program. The university combines the strength of a large university with the intimacy of small learning communities and focuses on helping students to succeed and become leaders. It is home to the Vandals, and competes in the Western Athletic Conference. For more information, visit www.uidaho.edu.