College of Law

Administration Office: 208-885-2255
Dean’s Office: 208-885-4977
fax: 208-885-5709
Menard 101
711 S. Rayburn Drive

Mailing Address:
College of Law
University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 2321
Moscow, ID 83844-2321


phone: 208-364-4074
fax: 208-334-2176
322 E. Front St., Suite 590
Boise, ID 83702

J. Walter Sinclair

Partner, Holland & Hart LLP – Boise, Idaho
B.A., Stanford University, ’75; J.D., University of Idaho, ’78

Photo of Law Advisory Committee Member, J. Walter SinclairJ. Walter Sinclair is a partner of the firm Holland & Hart LLP. He is a trial lawyer focusing on business and commercial litigation. His practice regularly includes complex contract disputes, product liability matters, antitrust issues, securities and class actions. Mr. Sinclair is a Fellow in and the state chair of the International Academy of Trial Lawyers (IATL) and he is a Fellow in and previously served as a national foundation board member and officer and past state chair of the American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL). He is a past president of International Association of Defense Counsel (IADC), the Lawyers for Civic Justice (LCJ), the Idaho chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA), and the Boise chapter of the American Inns of Court. In 2012 he was awarded the E.I. DuPont “Golden Eagle” award for excellent legal services.

Mr. Sinclair is an active member of his community. He currently serves as the Idaho State Membership Chair of the U.S. Supreme Court Historical Society, as a member of the St. Luke's Regional Medical Center Strategic Initiatives Committee, and as a member of the Board of Trustees and Executive committee of the Idaho Shakespeare Festival. He previously served as the Chairman of the National Board of Directors of the American Heart Association and is currently on the Idaho AHA Board of Directors.  He previously served as a Director and President of the Magic Valley Regional Medical Center Foundation, Inc. In 2004 He was awarded the American Heart Association’s national Gold Heart Award.