ITS Locations

Help Desk

Teaching Learning Center Room 128
Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm
Phone: (208) 885-4357 (HELP) 
helpdesk@uidaho.edu

Administration

ITS Administration Offices
Administration Building
Room 140
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3155
Moscow, ID 83844-3155
Phone: (208)885-6721
Fax: (208)885-7539

Media Center

Teaching Learning Center 131 
Phone: (208) 885-6411
Fax: (208) 885-0566
mediactr@uidaho.edu

Records Management

Office of Records Management
Student Union Building
Room 53
875 Perimeter Drive MS 4247
Moscow, ID 83844-4247
phone: (208) 885-2580
records@uidaho.edu

Current Hours of Operation
Mon: 7:30-4:30pm
Tue: 7:30-11:30am
Wed: 7:30-11:30am
Thur: 7:30-11:30am

Vandal Cards

Student Union Building
Room 124
875 Perimeter Drive MS 4256
Moscow, ID 83844-4256
Phone: (208) 885-7522
Fax: (208) 885-9208
vcoffice@uidaho.edu

Telephone Services

Administration Building 
Room 133
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3155
Moscow, ID 83844-3155
Phone: (208) 885-5800
Fax: (208) 885-7539
its-ts-admin@uidaho.edu

Email Recovery

E-mail Recovery

This tutorial applies to the following operating system(s):

Windows        Macintosh

Overview:

After Completion, you will know the email recovery options available to UI students, staff and faculty

Accidentally deleted an email and need to have it recovered? Thanks to Office 365, your lost files may not be completely lost after all, if deleted less than 28 days prior. Office 365 has robust email recovery options and this tutorial will walk you through the steps to take if you have accidentally deleted an email and need it recovered.



How File Deletion Works

When using Outlook or Outlook Web Access (OWA) items are sent to the Deleted Items folder once the user deletes it. Items will reside in the Deleted Items folder for fourteen (14) days. Once the items are fourteen days old the files will be erased.

Fear not, you can recover some items, like messages, contacts, appointments, tasks, and notes after the Deleted Items folder is emptied or you’ve erased, instead of sent to trash, an item by pressing Shift+Delete. This requires a Microsoft Exchange Server account and doesn’t work with POP3 or IMAP accounts.


Recover Deleted Items in Outlook

If you don’t see Recover Deleted Items, you’re probably not using an Exchange account or you have no folder selected in that account.

Click Folder > Recover Deleted Items.

Click on the message you wish to recover, and then click Recover Selected Items .

To select multiple items, Press Ctrl while clicking each item, and then click Recover Selected Items .

These recovered items will be restored to the folder you ae working in.

 NOTE: Your Exchange administrator determines the retention period for deleted items. After this time, deleted items cannot be restored.

The prompt will stay up and the question will be added to your list. Continue to add up to three questions. Once you have finished, click the "close" button to close the security question window and then click the link for "Security Contacts" to continue.




Recover Deleted Items in Outlook Web App

----------------------------------------------------------
If the item is still in your Deleted Items Folder:
----------------------------------------------------------

Select Deleted Items, which is in the email folder list.

Right-click the email you would like to restore, select Move, specify a folder location, and click Move.

If you’d like to restore an item besides an email, such as a task, calendar, or contact, right-click the item, and then click the most appropriate option: Move to CalendarMove to Contacts, or Move to Tasks.






Recover Deleted Items in Outlook Web App

-----------------------------------------------------------
If the item is NOT in your Deleted Items Folder:
-----------------------------------------------------------

Right-click Deleted Items, which is in the email folder list, then click Recover deleted items.

Select which email you would like to recover, and then click Recover. Whether it's an email or another item type, (Calendar, email, task), it should be moved to it's default location.

If you'd rather permanently delete your items instead of recover them, feel free to purge instead of recover. To purge, select the item and click Purge

If purging was also a mistake, know that the purged item will not be erased from any backups that were made before you purged it.