Take Action




Office of the Dean
Phone: (208) 885-6470
Toll-free: 88-88-UIDAHO
Fax: (208) 885-6645
Email: deanengr@uidaho.edu

Janssen Engineering (JEB)
Room 125

875 Perimeter Drive MS 1011
Moscow, ID 83844-1011

Dean's Office Directory


Contact Denise Engebrecht
Phone: (208) 364-6123
Fax: (208) 364-3160
Email: denisee@uidaho.edu

Idaho Water Center
322 E. Front Street
Boise, ID 83702


Idaho Falls

Contact Debbie Caudle
Phone: (208) 282-7983
Fax: (208) 282-7929
Email: debrac@uidaho.edu

1776 Science Center Drive, Suite 306
Idaho Falls, Idaho 83402

Distance Education

Engineering Outreach
Phone: (208) 885-6373
Toll-free: (800) 824-2889
Fax: (208) 885-9249
E-mail: outreach@uidaho.edu


Faculty of Excellence Awards

The College of Engineering is pleased to announce the recipients of the first two Faculty of Excellence Awards, Eric Aston and Aaron Thomas.

The purpose of these awards is to support and reward faculty in the College of Engineering who demonstrate the greatest potential to be professors of the highest caliber. There will be a $15,000 stipend awarded annually for a period of three years, renewable once. The funds will be used to support their activities such as summer salary, student support, and travel. These awards are made possible through the generous contributions of our alumni.

Eric Aston

Eric AstonEric Aston is an associate professor in the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering. He has been a faculty member at the University of Idaho for 10 years.

Professor Aston's technical expertise is in the area of applications for nanomaterials such as biodetection and stronger composite materials. Most of his research activities, as disseminated through more than 75 journal articles, abstracts, conference presentations and invited lectures, include interdisciplinary teams of student investigators, faculty and scientists.

His work has been funded primarily by the National Science Foundation, the United States Department of Agriculture, and the W.M. Keck Foundation.

He has taught classes in the department and Honors courses that appeal to a broad audience of students. His leadership and service on and off campus encompass a broad variety of involvement on dozens of voluntary review panels, search and review committees, journal referee teams, and some 60 graduate student committees.

The success of his work is attributed to the quality and shared energy of interdisciplinary researchers that he has had the privileged to work with at the university and across the state on larger projects that could not have been approached by a single investigator. Future plans include cultivating some industrial partnerships in research and a sabbatical to study macromolecular properties and applications in greater depth.

Aaron Thomas

Aaron ThomasAaron Thomas is an associate professor in the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering and the Director of the Idaho Space Grant Consortium and the Idaho NASA EPSCoR program. He has been a faculty member at the University of Idaho for 10 years.

Professor Thomas's technical expertise is in the area of microfluidics and novel separation processes for gasses and biological materials. He is also a recipient of the prestigious National Science Foundation CAREER and the PECASE Award given to young faculty in science and engineering.

He has published in well-known journals such as Chemical Engineering Science, Physics of Fluids, and the International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer.

He has participated on several panels for the National Science Foundation, served on a number of graduate student committees, and was a part of the student admissions committee for the university for several years.

Future plans include continuing to build the Summer of Innovation program which brings science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) curriculum to students and teachers on tribal reservations and underserved communities and establishing a summer bridge program for Native American and Alaska Native students to help in graduating our Native students.