Take Action


May 1, 2015

Student Registration
7:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.

Judges Breakfast
7:30 a.m. - 8:15 a.m.

EXPO Information
8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Judges Orientation
8:15 a.m. - 8:45 a.m.

K-12 Visitor Registration
8:30 a.m - 11:30 a.m.

Opening Ceremonies
8:45 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.

EXPO Hall Open
9:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Technical Sessions
9:20 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Judges Lunch
12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Students Lunch
12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Keynote Speaker: Karen Higgins
2:30 pm – 3:30 pm

Awards Ceremony
3:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Complete Schedule >

Judge Info Contact

Please email Rob Patton or call (208) 885-7511 if you have technical difficulties with judge registration or need assistance.

2015 22nd Annual Engineering Design EXPO

EXPO Judges

Judges are an important part of the engineering Design EXPO experience for University of Idaho senior design students. The interaction between students and judges create opportunities for students to gain new insights and to learn about engineering career paths and the workforce in general.

Judging opportunities are available for booth/poster exhibits and technical presentations. Booth/poster judges examine up to 10 entries where technical presentation judges attend 5 to 6 technical presentations. 

Judging takes place on Friday, May 1, 2015 from 9 a.m.-12 noon after an orientation by a member of our EXPO capstone faculty.

Judges spend approximately 2-3 hours reviewing design products, processes, and team communication.  Judge assessments serve as the basis for the EXPO Awards Ceremony held at the end of the day.

All judges are invited to the Dean's EXPO Preview Reception on Thursday, April 30 in the Pitman Student Center (formerly the Student Union Building) where you will have the opportunity to preview EXPO by meeting our students, capstone faculty advisors, staff and other judges.

Judges are provided a complimentary breakfast and lunch as well as free parking for the day.


2015 Engineering Design EXPO Judges

A special thank you to all of the individuals who have volunteered their time to join us at EXPO this year to serve as judges.

Brad Acker - University of Idaho 
Ralph Barker - Hecla Mining Company
Amanda Battles - Clearwater Paper
Pat Blount - Moscow School District
Bruce Bouton - The Boeing Company
Pietro Boyd - Nightforce Optics
Myles Brown - The Boeing Company
Martin Buehler - Decagon Devices
Christopher Byrne - POWER Engineers, Inc.
John Crockett - Crockett Consulting
Amrit Dahal - University of Idaho  
Finia Dinh - Idaho Department of Labor
Raymond Dixon - University of Idaho
Byron Flynn - General Electric
Shannon Fuchs - Idaho Forest Group
Jennifer Halvorson - Schweitzer Engineering Labs
Gene Hamacher - University of Idaho TechHelp
Blake Hansen - Alturas Capital
Marjorie Hatter - Retired
Chad Heimbigner - Coffman Engineers
Kenneth Hengen - U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Scott Hodge - Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories
David Hollenback - K&N Industrial Equipment
Chris Horgan - J-U-B ENGINEERS, Inc.
Paul Huber - The Boeing Company
Christopher Hyde - University of Idaho
Richard Jacobsen - Idaho State University

Valerie Jensen - The Boeing Company
Fred Jessup - Schweitzer Engineering Labs
James Jonakin - Celestica
Kurran Kelly - BP Alaska
Ellie Key - Washington State Department of Ecology
Krista Kinsey - Idaho Power
Jay Larsen - Idaho Technology Council
Katie Leichliter - University of Idaho 
Bradley Loeding - BD Biosciences
Kenneth Mays - Sonnet Software
William McDougall - Retired
Tom Moore - Consultant
Doug Overholtzer - Wagstaff, Inc.
Lyle Parks - Retired
Marc Patterson - Idaho Power 
Shawn Pratt - Hewlett-Packard
Gerry Queener - Retired
Pete Robicahud - USDA Forest Service
Steve Silkworth - Avista Corporation
Charles Simon - Boeing Commercial Airplane
Tom Stalick - Kapstone Kraft Paper Corporation
Eric Stubbs - Micron Technology
Todd Swanstrom - Western Trailer Co.
Cody Tews - Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories
Ed Whitehead - Retired
Calvin Williams - The Boeing Company
Tom Zysk - Boeing Commercial Airplanes