Locations | A - Z Index | Directory | Calendar   Search Icon
University Home » College of College of Graduate Studies
Fall Leaves

Sustainability in the UI Curriculum


The following is a list of courses that have a sustainability focus or have integrated sustainability principles with the standard curriculum to varying degrees. This is a self-selecting list and is therefore not exhaustive.

College of Graduate Studies

ENVS 541, Sampling and Analysis of Environmental Contaminants
Instructor: Maxine Dakins (Idaho Falls), maxined@uidaho.edu  

ENVS 498, Internship: Wetland Revitalization
Instructor: Chris Dixon, cdixon@uidaho.edu  

ENVS 428, Pollution Prevention, www.webs.uidaho.edu/envs428
Instructor: Maxine Dakins (Idaho Falls), maxined@uidaho.edu  

ENVS 404/504, Case Studies in Environmental Justice
Instructor: Julia Parker, jdparker@uidaho.edu  

ENVS 404/504, History of Energy
Instructor: Maxine Dakins (Idaho Falls), Maxined@uidaho.edu  

ENVS 404/504, Energy Efficiency and Conservation
Instructor: Gary Johnson, garyj@uidaho.edu  

ENVS 404/504, Water and Energy Connections
Instructor: Gary Johnson, garyj@uidaho.edu  

ENVS 404/504, Energy, Sustainability and Modeling
Instructor: Akira Tokuhiro, tokuhiro@uidaho.edu  

ENVS 225 (online), International Environmental Issues, http://www.webs.uidaho.edu/envs225/syllabus.htm  
Instructor: Sharon Harvey, s_harvey_2000@yahoo.com  

ENVS 225, International Environmental Issues
Instructor: Chris Dixon, cdixon@uidaho.edu  

ENVS 102, Field Activities in Environmental Science
Instructor: TBA

ENVS 101, Introduction to Environmental Science
Instructor: Bob Mahler, bmahler@uidaho.edu  



College of Science

BIOL 116, Organisms and Environments
Instructor: Bruce Mobarry, bmobarry@uidaho.edu  

GEOG 501, Grand Challenges of Environmental Science
Instructor: Jeff Hicke, jhicke@uidaho.edu  

GEOG/REM 450, Global Environmental Change
Instructors: Jeff Hicke, jhicke@uidaho.edu, Von Walden, vonw@uidaho.edu, Lee Vierling, leev@uidaho.edu  

GEOG 409/501, Rural Development Seminar
Instructor: Harley Johansen, johansen@uidaho.edu  

GEOG 310, Biogeography
Instructors: Jeff Hicke, jhicke@uidaho.edu, and Michael Jennings, Jennings@uidaho.edu  

GEOG 100, Physical Geography
Instructor: Jeff Hicke, jhicke@uidaho.edu  

GEOL 309, Ground Water Hydrology
Instructor: Gary Johnson, garyj@uidaho.edu  

HYDR 414/514, Surface and Ground Water Interactions
Instructor: Gary Johnson, garyj@uidaho.edu  



College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

AGEC 451, Applied Environmental and Natural Resource Economics
Instructor: Levan Elbakidze, lelbakidze@uidaho.edu  

FS 464/564, Food Toxicology, http://www.agls.uidaho.edu/foodtox/lectures/SYLLABUS.PDF  
Instructor: Greg Moller, gmoller@uidaho.edu  

FS/ENVS 436/536, Principles of Sustainability, http://www.webpages.uidaho.edu/sustainability/resources/syllabus.pdf  
Instructor: Greg Moller, gmoller@uidaho.edu  

FS/ENVS 409/509, Principles of Environmental Toxicology, http://www.agls.uidaho.edu/etox/resources/SYLLABUS.pdf  
Instructor: Greg Moller, gmoller@uidaho.edu  

PLSC 401, Plant Growth and Development
Instructor: Joe Kuhl, jkuhl@uidaho.edu  

SOIL 504, Environmental Geophysics
Instructor: Robert Heinse, rheinse@uidaho.edu  

SOIL 499, Organic Farming Practicum
Instructor: Jodi Johnson-Maynard, jmaynard@uidaho.edu  

SOIL/ENT/PLSC 438, Pesticides in the Environment
Instructor: Matt Morra, mmorra@uidaho.edu  

SOIL 416, Sustainable Small Farming and Ranching
Instructors: Cinda Williams, cindaw@uidaho.edu, Lydia Clayton, lclayton@uidaho.edu, and Amanda Snyder, amsnyder@uidaho.edu  

SOIL 415, Soil and Environmental Physics
Instructor: Robert Heinse, rheinse@uidaho.edu  

SOIL 404/504, Sustainable Management of Natural Systems
Instructors: Jodi Johnson-Maynard, jmaynard@uidaho.edu, and Daniel Hansson, danielh@uidaho.edu  

SOIL 205, The Soil Ecosystem
Instructor: Jodi Johnson-Maynard, jmaynard@uidaho.edu  



College of Letters, Arts and Social Sciences

ANTH 462/562, Human Issues in International Development
Instructor: Laura Putsche, putsche@uidaho.edu  

ANTH 220, Peoples of the World
Instructor: Laura Putsche, putsche@uidaho.edu  

ENG 475, Ecocriticism’s Evolution: The Environmental Turn in Literary Studies
Instructor: Jennifer Ladino, jladino@uidaho.edu  

ENG 404/504, Exploring the Literatures of Environmental Justice, http://www.class.uidaho.edu/engl504_404jj  
Instructor: Jan Johnson, janjohn@uidaho.edu  

HIST 424/524, American Environmental History
Instructor: Adam Sowards, asowards@uidaho.edu  

HIST 404, Modern Brazil, http://www.class.uidaho.edu/Graden/hist404-brazil-fall2010/
Instructor: Dale Graden, graden@uidaho.edu  

JAMM 462, Creative Thinking in the Media
Instructor: Jim Clark, hjclark@uidaho.edu  

JAMM 428, Environmental Journalism
Instructor: Bill Loftus, bloftus@uidaho.edu  

PHIL/ENVS 552, Environmental Philosophy
Instructor: Graham Hubbs, hubbs@uidaho.edu  

PSYC 320, Introduction to Social Psychology
Instructor: Traci Craig, tcraig@uidaho.edu  

PSYC 319, Environmental Psychology
Instructor: Traci Craig, tcraig@uidaho.edu  



College of Art and Architecture

ARCH 573, Daylight Design and Simulation
Instructor: Kevin Van Den Wymelenberg (Boise), kevinv@uidaho.edu  

ARCH 504/583, Sustainable Development
Instructors: Wendy McClure, wmcclure@uidaho.edu, and Sherry McKibben (Boise), sherry@uidaho.edu  

ARCH 504, Integrated Design Seminar
Instructor: Kevin Van Den Wymelenberg (Boise), kevinv@uidaho.edu  

ARCH 464, Environmental Control Systems, http://www.caa.uidaho.edu/arch464/arch464.htm  
Instructor: Bruce Haglund, bhaglund@uidaho.edu  

ARCH 463, Environmental Control Systems
Instructor: Phillip Mead, pmead@uidaho.edu  

ID 368, Materials and Specifications
Instructor: Miranda Anderson, mirandaa@uidaho.edu  

ID 151, Introduction to Interior Design
Instructor: Miranda Anderson, mirandaa@uidaho.edu  

LARC 480, Emerging Landscapes
Instructor: Kristy Bruce, kbruce@uidaho.edu  

LARC 380, Water in the Urban Context
Instructor: Gary Austin, gaustin@uidaho.edu  

LARC 368 & 369, Construction Materials and Detailing
Instructor: Bill MacElroy, wmacelroy@uidaho.edu  

LARC 268 & 269, Landscape Construction
Instructor: Bill MacElroy, wmacelroy@uidaho.edu  

LARC 251, Introduction to the Principles of Site Design
Instructor: Elizabeth Graff, egraff@uidaho.edu  



College of Business and Economics

BUS 551, Managing Scientific Projects
Instructor: John Lawrence, jjl@uidaho.edu  

BUS 378, Project Management
Instructor: Tracie Lee, tlee@uidaho.edu  

ECON 447, International Development Economics
Instructor: Eric Stuen, estuen@uidaho.edu  

EMBA 521, Strategy Formulation and Execution
Instructor: John Lawrence, jjl@uidaho.edu  

EMBA 512, Managing Complex Systems
Instructor: John Lawrence, jjl@uidaho.edu  



College of Engineering

CE 535, Fluvial Geomorphology
Instructor: Elowyn Yager (Boise), eyager@uidaho.edu  

CE 526, Aquatic Habitat Modeling
Instructor: Daniele Tonina, dtonina@uidaho.edu  

CE 504, River Restoration
Instructor: Elowyn Yager (Boise), eyager@uidaho.edu  

CE 504, Sustainable Transportation and Community Design, www.uidaho.edu/~mlowry/Teaching/ce573.htm  
Instructor: Mike Lowry, mlowry@uidaho.edu  

CE/ME 504, Experimental Methods in Fluid Dynamics, www.webs1.uidaho.edu/exp504  
Instructor: Ralph Budwig, rbudwig@uidaho.edu  

CE/ME 420/520, Fluid Dynamics, www.webs1.uidaho.edu/fluids420_520  
Instructor: Ralph Budwig, rbudwig@uidaho.edu  

CHE/MSE 453 & 454, Process Analysis and Design Parts I & II
Instructor: David Drown, ddrown@uidaho.edu  

CHE 223, Material and Energy Balances
Instructor: Wudneh Admassu, wadmassu@uidaho.edu  



College of Natural Resources

BIOP 520, Introduction to Bioregional Planning
Instructor: Tamara Laninga, laninga@uidaho.edu  

CSS 594/504, Public Relations and Communications for Resource Professionals, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/css594  
Instructor: Chuck Harris, charris@uidaho.edu  

CSS 580, Restoration Practicum, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/cnr580  
Instructor: Chuck Harris, charris@uidaho.edu  

CSS 573, Planning/Decision Making for Watershed Management, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/rrt573  
Instructor: Chuck Harris, charris@uidaho.edu  

CSS 572, Human Dimensions of Restoration Ecology, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/cnr572  
Instructor: Chuck Harris, charris@uidaho.edu  

FISH 515, Ecology and Management of Large River Fisheries
Instructor: Dennis Scarnecchia, scar@uidaho.edu  

FISH 504, Community Ecology
Instructor: Alex Fremier, afremier@uidaho.edu  

FISH 430, Riparian Ecology and Management
Instructor: Alex Fremier, afremier@uidaho.edu  

FISH 418, Fisheries Management
Instructor: Dennis Scarnecchia, scar@uidaho.edu  

FOR 555, Current Topics: Regeneration/Restoration
Instructor: Anthony Davis, asdavis@uidaho.edu  

FOR 531, Invasion Biology
Instructor: George Newcombe, georgen@uidaho.edu  

FOR 526, Fire Ecology, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/fire_ecology  
Instructor: Penny Morgan, pmorgan@uidaho.edu

FOR 501, Forestry, Bioenergy and Carbon
Instructors: Mark Coleman, mcoleman@uidaho.edu, and Jay O’Laughlin, jayo@uidaho.edu  

FOR 485, Natural Resources Policy Analysis
Instructor: Jay O’Laughlin, jayo@uidaho.edu  

FOR 462, Watershed Science and Management, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/for462  
Instructor: Tim Link, tlink@uidaho.edu  

FOR 450, Combustion, Fire Behavior and Fuels, http://webpages.uidaho.edu/phiguera/FOR450/  
Instructor: Philip Higuera, phiguera@uidaho.edu  

FOR 426, Fire Ecology and Management, http://webpages.uidaho.edu/phiguera/FOR426/  
Instructor: Philip Higuera, phiguera@uidaho.edu  

FOR 426, Fire Ecology and Management, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/for426online/  
Instructor: Chad Hoffman, chadh@uidaho.edu  

FOR 324, Forest Regeneration
Instructor: Anthony Davis, asdavis@uidaho.edu  

FOR/CSS 235, Society and Natural Resources
Instructor: Lauren Fins, lfins@uidaho.edu  

FORP 438/538, Lignocellulosic Biomass Chemistry
Instructor: Armando McDonald, armandm@uidaho.edu  

FORP 436/536, Biocomposites
Instructor: Armando McDonald, armandm@uidaho.edu  

REM 504, Special Topics, Trends in Ecology: Global Change
Instructor: Beth Newingham, beth@uidaho.edu  

REM 501, Exploring Biogeosciences
Instructors: Beth Newingham, beth@uidaho.edu, and Alistair Smith, Alistair@uidaho.edu  

REM 459, Rangeland Ecology, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/range459bunting/  
Instructor: Steve Bunting, sbunting@uidaho.edu  

REM 440, Restoration Ecology
Instructor: Beth Newingham, beth@uidaho.edu  

REM 244, Wildland Fire Management, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/rem244/  
Instructor: Chad Hoffman, chadh@uidaho.edu  

WLF 543, Fish & Wildlife Population Analysis, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/population_ecology/wlf543.htm  
Instructor: Oz Garton, ogarton@uidaho.edu  

WLF 541, Fish & Wildlife Population Ecology, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/population_ecology/Wlf541.htm  
Instructor: Oz Garton, ogarton@uidaho.edu  

WLF 448, Fish & Wildlife Population Ecology, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/wlf448/  
Instructor: Oz Garton, ogarton@uidaho.edu  

WLF 440, Conservation Biology, http://www.cnr.uidaho.edu/wlf440  
Instructor: Lisette Waits, lwaits@uidaho.edu  



College of Education 

CTE 449, Appropriate Technology and Alternative Energy
Instructor: Janel Kerr, janelk@uidaho.edu  

CTE 404, Green Construction
Instructor: Zachary Russell, zrussell@uidaho.edu  

EDAD 571, Educational Leadership in a Global Society
Instructor: Michael Johnson (Boise), mjjohnson@uidaho.edu  

HPRD 429, Principles of Leadership and Pedagogy
Instructors: Grace Goc Karp, gockarp@uidaho.edu, Helen Brown, hbrown@uidaho.edu, and Tami Goetz, tgoetz@uidaho.edu  

PEP 530, Contemporary Issues Related to Health and Physical Activity
Instructor: Grace Goc Karp, gockarp@uidaho.edu  



CORE Curriculum

CORE 163, Globalization
Instructor: Ken Faunce, kfaunce@uidaho.edu  

CORE 125/175, The Earth and Our Place on It
Instructor: Adam Sowards, asowards@uidaho.edu  

CORS 221, Physics of Planetary Climate, http://barnesos.net/cors221/  
Instructor: Jason Barnes, jwbarnes@uidaho.edu