students walk on University of Idaho campus

Visit U of I

Learn about the many reasons the University of Idaho could be a perfect fit for you. Schedule Your Visit

Parents on campus during orientation

Homecoming Oct. 1-7

Join other Vandal families for a week of celebration and Vandal traditions. View Calendar

campus full of students

U of I Retirees Association

UIRA has a membership of nearly 500 from every part of the University. Learn More

Faculty and Staff

Rangeland Center Staff:

Rangeland Center Faculty:

College of Natural Resources

Natural Resources and Society Department

  • Dennis Becker - Director, Policy Analysis Group (Moscow) 
  • Phil Cook – Natural Resource Policy Analyst (Moscow)
  • Travis Paveglio - Natural Resource Collaboration and Communication (Moscow) 
  • Lee Vierling - Department Head, Biogeochemistry, Landscape Ecology and Remote Sensing (Moscow) 
  • J.D. Wulfhorst ─ Rural Sociology, Social Assessments and Community Resilience (Moscow) 

Forest, Rangeland, and Fire Sciences Department

  • April Hulet - State Range Extension Specialist/Assistant Professor (Boise)
  • Steve Bunting - Rangeland and Fire Ecology (Emeritus, Moscow)
  • Jason Karl - Landscape-scale Monitoring & Management (Moscow)
  • Crystal Kolden - Remote Sensing (Moscow)
  • Karen Launchbaugh, Range Animal Behavior and Grazing Ecology (Moscow)
  • Penny Morgan - Wildland Fire Ecology and Management (Moscow)
  • Eva Strand -  Landscape, Fire and Rangeland Ecology (Moscow)
  • Tim Link - Wildland Hydrology and Watershed Management (Moscow)

Fish and Wildlife Sciences Department

  • Courtney Conway - Wildlife Management, Conservation Biology and Behavioral Ecology (Moscow)
  • Tracey Johnson - Livestock-Wildlife Interactions, Wildlife Habitat Ecology (Moscow)
  • Janet Rachlow - Wildlife Ecology (Moscow)

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences Faculty

County Extension Offices

  • Sarah Baker  - Agricultural and Natural Resources Extension, Custer County (Challis)
  • Jim Church - Agricultural and Natural Resources Extension, Idaho County (Grangeville)
  • Samantha Graf ─ Small Acreage Management, Livestock Production and Extension, Canyon County (Caldwell)
  • Danielle Gunn - Agricultural and Natural Resources Extension, Fort Hall Reservation (Fort Hall)
  • Scott Jensen - Agricultural and Natural Resources Extension, Owyhee County (Marsing)
  • Tyanne Roland - Agricultural and Natural Resources Extension, Adams County (Council)
  • Shannon Williams - Agricultural and Natural Resources Extension, Lemhi County (Salmon)
  • Carmen Willmore - Agricultural and Natural Resources Extension, Lincoln County (Shoshone)

Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Department

  • Paul Lewin - Agricultural Economics and Rural Community Development (Moscow)
  • Neil Rimbey - Range Economics, Rangeland Values and Natural Resource Policy Extension (Emeritus, Caldwell)
  • Katherine Lee - Natural Resource and Environmental Economics (Moscow)
  • Hernan Tejeda - Applied and Production Economics (Twin Falls Research and Extension Center)

Animal and Veterinary Sciences Department

  • John Hall - Ruminant Nutrition and Reproduction (Nancy M. Cummings Research, Extension & Education Center, Salmon)
  • Melinda Ellison - Range Livestock and Wildlife Interactions (Nancy M. Cummings Research, Extension & Education Center, Salmon)
  • Jim Sprinkle - Beef Production (Nancy M. Cummings Research, Extension & Education Center, Salmon)
  • Benton Glaze - Livestock Production and Genetics (Twin Falls Research and Extension Center)

Entomology, Plant Pathology, and Nematology Department

  • Steve Cook - Entomology, Insect Ecology and Management (Moscow)

Plant Sciences Department

  • Tim Prather - Invasive Plant Ecology and Management/Rangeland Restoration (Moscow)
  • Glenn Shewmaker - Forage Management and Utilization (Kimberly)

Soil and Water Systems Department

University of Idaho Library

Rangeland Center Partners Advisory Council

  • Brett Dumas ─ Idaho Power Company Director of Environmental Affairs, Chair
  • Gretchen Hyde ─ Idaho Rangeland Resource Commission Executive Director, Vice-Chair
  • Lou Lunte ─ The Nature Conservancy (Idaho Chapter) Associate State Director, Past-Chair
  • Jeff Foss ─ BLM Idaho Deputy State Director of Resources (Retired)
  • Mike Guerry ─ Rancher and Past President of Idaho Wool Growers
  • Wendy Pratt ─ Rancher and Member of the Eastern Idaho Grazing Association
  • Toni Ruth ─ Executive Director of Salmon Valley Stewardship
  • Merrill Beyeler ─  Rancher and Central Idaho Rangelands Network
  • Pete Wittman ─ Farmer/Rancher of Wittman Farms
  • Tom Dyer ─ BLM Idaho State Director (Retired) and Fisherman
  • Carl Crabtree ─ Rancher and Idaho State Senator, District 7
  • Laurie Lickley ─ Rancher and Idaho Cattle Association Past-President
  • Rob Mickelsen ─ U.S. Forest Service
  • Tom Page ─ Rancher and Central Idaho Rangelands Network
  • Jason Pyron ─ U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Sage-grouse Coordinator
  • Priscilla Salant ─ UI McClure Center for Public Policy (Emeritus)
  • Bert Brackett ─ Idaho State Senator and Rancher (Emeritus)  

Rangeland Center University Leadership

  • Kurt Pregitzer - Dean, College of College of Natural Resources
  • Michael Parrella - Dean, College of Agricultural and Life Science
  • Barbara Petty – Associate Dean and Director of Extension

Contact Us

Mailing Address:
UI Moscow
Natural Resources Bldg.
Room 205
875 Perimeter Dr. MS 1135
Moscow, ID 83844-1135
Phone: 208-885-6536  
Fax: 208-885-6564

Physical and Mailing Address: 
UI Boise
Idaho Water Center
Suite 210 
322 E Front St.
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: 208-364-3176