A scene from Becky's New Car with text "News"


Theatre Students Take Top Honors in Regional Theatre Festival

More than 60 University of Idaho Theatre Arts students participated in the Region 7 Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) in Ellensburg, Washington, last week, with numerous awards garnered including two students winning top honors and advancing to the national festival in Washington, D.C., April 13 – 18.

Participants directed and performed in dramatic, comedic and musical theater scenes and monologues, delivered presentations and showcased displays on costume design, scene design, sound design and stage management. Theater professionals from around the nation responded to the performances and projects of the regional participants. These professionals served as selection panelists, naming one regional awardee in performance (the Irene Ryan Award), scenery, costumes, lighting, sound, and allied crafts from the region, as well as determining other awards.

Kadin McGreevy
 won top honors in directing, winning the Stage Directing and Choreographers (SDC) award for his scene from “Vigils”, which featured UI students Micheal Angelo Smith, Dan Poppen, Lo Miles and Kevin O’Connell. 

Courtney Smith
 took top honors in scenic design, winning the Design, Technology and Management (DTM) award for his work on “The Cherry Orchard” which was produced by UI Theatre Arts in 2014. The award was based on quality, effectiveness, originality, and visual presentation techniques.

Sondra Williams' 
play was selected as a national semi-finalist. “Happy and Birthday” will compete in the National Playwriting Program – John Cauble One Act, against 16 others, of which two will be selected to go to the national festival.

Liz Karst 
received a Level 2 award in costume design in the DTM category for her creative costume designs in “A Tomato Plant Girl”.

Gus Rose-Witt
 received a Level 2 award in sound design in the DTM category for her work in “A Christmas Carol”.

Michael Brandt 
received an Allied Arts award for his puppetry work in “A Christmas Carol”.

For their performances in the Irene Ryan competition, Alex Wendel and Hunter Price  received the New Plays New Voices Award and Micheal Angelo Smith took home the Mark Twain Comedy Acting Award.