Visit UI

Learn about the many reasons the University of Idaho could be a perfect fit for you. Schedule Your Visit

Parent Orientation

Students and parents can learn their way around campus and discover the many opportunities at UI. Orientation events are Aug. 18-21. Register

UI Retirees Association

UIRA has a membership of nearly 500 from every part of the University.

Advising

Once you have declared yourself as a theatre arts major, you will be assigned an advisor in your area of interest. You can then contact your assigned advisor to set up an appointment to discuss your progress toward your degree or what courses you should be taking in the coming semester.

You must officially declare yourself as a theatre major in order to be assigned an advisor by filling out a Change-of-Curriculum Form, which is available from the Registrar’s Office. If you are not yet a theatre major, but would simply like to talk to someone about the major and its various emphases, you can write or make an appointment with the department chair, Ann Hoste ((208) 885-0272 or ahoste@uidaho.edu).

It usually takes a couple days after the Registrar’s Office has processed your Change-of-Curriculum Form for you to be assigned an advisor. If you are changing your major to theatre, you should be able to learn the name of your advisor by calling the Theatre department at (208) 885-6465. You can also see the name of your advisor on the Degree Audit Program in VandalWeb.

Students with more than 28 credits are assigned to advisors based on the emphasis they have chosen and the number of advisees that each advisor currently has. We do our best to assure that each advisor for a given emphasis has approximately the same number of students.

Here are the advisors and the areas in which they advise:

Design and Technology

Scenery & Costumes

Robby Valliere
valliere@uidaho.edu

Lighting

Dean Panttaja
panttaja@uidaho.edu

Performance Area

Matt Foss
mfoss@uidaho.edu

BFA Candidates

Kelly Quinnett
kellyq@uidaho.edu

Directing and Stage Management

David Lee-Painter
davidlp@uidaho.edu

Dramatic Writing (M.F.A.)

Robert Caisley
rcaisley@uidaho.edu

Physical Address:
Corner of 6th and Rayburn Shoup Hall - 2nd Floor

Mailing Address:
Theatre Arts Department
University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 2008
Moscow, ID 83844-2008

Phone: 208-885-6465

Fax: 208-885-2558

Email: theatre@uidaho.edu

Web: Theatre Arts Department

Map