Contact & Location


Lionel Hampton School of Music

Physical Address:
Corner of Blake & W. Sweet Ave.
PHONE: 208-885-6231
FAX: 208-885-7254
EMAIL: music@uidaho.edu

Mailing Address:
Lionel Hampton School of Music
c/o University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 4015
University of Idaho
Moscow, Idaho 83844-4015
Rajung Yang

Rajung Yang, D.M.A.

Office: Music 301
Phone: (208) 885-7441
Email: rjyang@uidaho.edu
Mailing Address: c/o Lionel Hampton School of Music
875 Perimeter Drive MS 4015
Moscow, Idaho 83844-4015

Lionel Hampton School of Music
Assistant Professor of Piano

Home Town: Seoul, South Korea
With UI Since 2010

  • Research/Focus Areas
    • Piano
  • Biography
    Born in Seoul, Korea, Rajung Yang began her piano studies at the age of four.  She received her B.M. and M.M. in Piano from Seoul National University where she studied with Kwi-Hyun Kim and completed her dissertation on Nine Bagatelles by William Bolcom.  In 2003, she moved to the United States to continue her graduate study at the University of Michigan.  Rajung received her second M.M. and D.M.A. in Piano Performance under tutorage of Arthur Greene and Logan Skelton.  Additional studies include collaborative piano with Martin Katz and Katherine Collier, and harpsichord with Edward Parmentier.   

    Rajung has won several top prizes in national and international competitions including Ibla Grand Prize and Bartok-Kabalevsky-Prokofiev Competitions in Italy in 2005.  Subsequent performances included her debut recital at New York Carnegie Hall, Boston, Washington D.C., Virginia, and other major venues in Italy.  In 2007, she won the University of Michigan Concerto Competition and this resulted in an appearance with the University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kenneth Kiesler at Hill Auditorium in Ann Arbor.  Rajung was also awarded third prize at the William Byrd International Competition in Michigan, where her performance of Paganini Rhapsody by Rachmaninoff gained the most favorable reception by local critics.

    As a dedicated advocate for the 20th and 21st centuries’ music, Rajung has performed and premiered new works as either a soloist or collaborator in numerous festivals and conferences in US, Korea and Europe.  Two of her dissertation recitals at the University of Michigan featured solely contemporary piano music by such composers as Maurice Ohana, Bright Sheng, William Bolcom, Nikolai Kapustin and George Crumb.     

    Rajung Yang is an Assistant Professor of Piano at the University of Idaho Lionel Hampton School of Music where she teaches Collaborative Piano.  Prior to her appointment at the University of Idaho, Rajung taught at Adrian College in Michigan and the University of Michigan.