Contact & Location

Moscow

Lionel Hampton School of Music

Physical Address:
Corner of Blake & W. Sweet Ave.
PHONE: 208-885-6231
FAX: 208-885-7254
EMAIL: music@uidaho.edu

Mailing Address:
Lionel Hampton School of Music
c/o University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 4015
University of Idaho
Moscow, Idaho 83844-4015

Audition Information

Ensemble Auditions

Jazz Bands

  • All auditions will be held early in the first week of classes.
  • Audition information and sign-up sheets will be on the Jazz Bands corkboard (across from Music 210)
  • For additional information please contact Vern Sielert: verns@uidaho.edu


Jazz Choirs

  • Jazz Choir II is open to audition on a limited basis, see Professor Bukvich for further details.
  • Jazz Choir I does not require an audition.


Marching Band


Orchestra

  • String players audition with Dr. Ferenc Cseszko on Tuesday afternoon of the first week of classes (fall semester).  A sign-up sheet will be on the Orchestra board (across from Music 210).  
  • All other players are auditioned by the faculty members of those instruments (see Wind Ensemble audition information).


Opera/Musical Theatre Productions

  • All singers who are new to the class will audition at the beginning of each semester and present either and operatic aria or a song from musical theatre.
  • For additional information please contact Dr. Christopher Pfund, cpfund@uidaho.edu.


University of Idaho Choirs

  • Fall Semester: Auditions occur during the first week of classes. 
  • Spring Semester: Auditions are by appointment with the director, Dr. Michael Murphy.
  • Sing a prepared, short solo piece that demonstrates your best level of technical and expressive ability; should be secure enough to be sung a cappella; also sight singing and tonal memory.
  • For additional information please contact Michael Murphy: michaelm@uidaho.edu


Winds and Percussion (Wind Ensemble and Orchestra)

  • Auditions (except for percussion) occur early in the first week of classes (by end-of-day Wednesday). Students audition for the professor of their instrument. Sign-up sheets for auditions will be placed on faculty doors by noon on Monday. Students should be prepared to play an etude or solo piece, scales and to sight-read.


Ensembles that do not Require an Audition

  • Concert Band
  • Jazz Choir I
  • Marching Band
  • University Chorus

Instrumental Contact Person and Location

 Instrument  Location  Contact Person
 Bassoon  Music 309  Dr. Javier Rodriguez, jrodriguez@uidaho.edu
 Clarinet  Music 212S  Dr. Shawn Copeland, scopeland@uidaho.edu
 Euphonium  Ridenbaugh 327  Dr. Chris Dickey - cdickey@uidaho.edu
 Flute  Music 204  Dr. Leonard Garrison – leonardg@uidaho.edu
 Horn  Music 307  Dr. Robert Dickow - dickow@uidaho.edu
 Oboe  Music 304  Dr. Carol Padgham Albrecht - caroltheoboist@hotmail.com 
 Percussion  Music 213  Professor Dan Bukvich - Auditions are by appointment 
 during the first week of classes.
 Saxophone  Music 308  Dr. Vanessa Sielert – vanessas@uidaho.edu
 Strings  Music 302  Dr. Ferenc Cseszko – fcseszko@uidaho.edu
 Trombone  Music 313  Professor Alan Gemberling - alang@uidaho.edu
 Trumpet  Music 303  Dr. Vern Sielert – verns@uidaho.edu
 Tuba  Ridenbaugh 327  Dr. Chris Dickey - cdickey@uidaho.edu
 Jazz Bands  Music 303  Dr. Vern Sielert – verns@uidaho.edu

 












 

Vocal Audition Locations and Contact Person

 Ensemble  Location  Contact Person
 Opera/Musical 
 Theatre
 Haddock
 Performance Hall
 Dr. Christopher Pfund – cpfund@uidaho.edu
 Vandaleers  Haddock Performance Hall  Dr. Michael Murphy – michaelm@uidaho.edu





For more information, please visit Lionel Hampton School of Music Ensembles or call the School of Music at
(208) 885-6231.