students walk on University of Idaho campus

Visit U of I

Learn about the many reasons the University of Idaho could be a perfect fit for you. Schedule Your Visit

Parents on campus during orientation

Homecoming Oct. 1-7

Join other Vandal families for a week of celebration and Vandal traditions. View Calendar

campus full of students

U of I Retirees Association

UIRA has a membership of nearly 500 from every part of the University. Learn More


Any admitted student who completes the FAFSA is automatically considered for the scholarships offered by the School of Journalism and Mass Media. Considerations are GPA, need and excellence or substantial activity within JAMM.

For general financial aid information, please visit UI Student Financial Aid Services.

JAMM Activities Scholarship

Awarded to journalism and mass media students who have attended UI at least one prior semester. Must be a full-time student, with a minimum 2.5 GPA.

Louise Schlegel Bevens Scholarship

Available to any journalism and mass media major.

Lucile Bondurant Scholarship

This scholarship was established in honor of the mother of Cecil Bondurant, one of the founding fathers of KUID-TV. Bondurant was chief engineer at KUID-TV and a faculty member in radio-TV from 1962-1981. Available to radio-TV majors.

Bert Cross Journalism Scholarship

The Bert Cross Scholarship honors the longtime head of the Department of Journalism and faculty member in journalism (1962-1985). This scholarship is available to journalism majors. Academic achievement is the primary consideration and financial need is secondary.

Kristin David Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was established by relatives and friends in memory of journalism and political science student Kristen David. It is available to any JAMM major with financial need. Preference given to double majors in JAMM and political science.

Robert Finlayson Scholarship

Priority given to advertising majors.

Theodore Florentz Scholarship

Established by UI alumus Theodore Florentz to promote excellence, this scholarship is open to any JAMM, based on GPA.

Aden Hyde Memorial Journalism Scholarship

Available to full-time journalism majors.

Nancy Jones Journalism Scholarship

Available to full-time journalism majors.

Eugene & Beverly Luntey Journalism Scholarship

Awarded to full-time journalism majors.

David Maxey Scholarship

This scholarship is based on writing skill, commitment and GPA. It honors David R. Maxey (1936-1984), a 1958 UI alumus who became a distinguished journalist and editor of "Look" magazine and "GEO."

Edward F. Mason Journalism Scholarship

Edward Files Mason was the founding father of the University of Idaho journalism program, organizing the curriculum after World War I. In his 11 years at UI, he also served as director of Publications and Secretary of the Faculty. He retired from the University of Iowa and died in 1967. This scholarship is available to the most outstanding journalism junior.

Inez Robb Scholarship

This scholarship is available to a journalism junior or senior, based on GPA. The scholarship was established in honor of Caldwell, Idaho, native Inez Robb (1901-1979), a nationally syndicated newspaper columnist whose work appeared in 160 newspapers around the country and the world. She received an honorary Doctor of Literature from UI in 1959.

Betty Ann Sechser Scholarship

Available to journalism majors who graduated from an Idaho high school.

Albert Edward Whitehead Scholarship

This scholarship was established by longtime UI speech and drama faculty member Albert Edward Whitehead. Preference is given to students who have successfully completed upper division classes in good academic standing.

School of Journalism and Mass Media

Physical Address:
347 Administration Building

Mailing Address:
School of Journalism and Mass Media
University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3178
Moscow, ID 83844-3178

Phone: 208-885-6458

Fax: 208-885-6450


Web: Journalism and Mass Media

Directory Map