Contact & Location


School of Journalism
and Mass Media

Physical Address:
Administration Bldg. 347
PHONE: (208) 885-6458
FAX: (208) 885-6450

Mailing Address:
School of Journalism
and Mass Media
c/o University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3178
Moscow, ID 83844-3178

JAMM Advisory Board

The School of Journalism and Mass Media enjoys a close professional association with UI graduates and supporters through their Advisory Board. Members of this group are industry professionals representing print journalism, broadcasting, public relations, advertising, and other media fields. Advisory board members contribute their knowledge, vision and experience to enable JAMM to meet and exceed their goals and to help chart a successful course for the future. They also contribute financially to support JAMM programs, such as accreditation expenses and the Outstanding Senior Awards reception. JAMM Advisory Board members meet to discuss issues and trends and make recommendations to JAMM's director.

The board's first meeting took place in November 1996 in Moscow. The board has since met twice a year, usually alternating between Boise and Moscow. Below is a list of board members.

A.L. “Butch” Alford Jr., Editor and Publisher Emeritus
Lewiston Tribune, Lewiston, Idaho

Nathan Alford, Editor and Publisher
Lewiston Tribune and Moscow-Pullman Daily News, Lewiston, Idaho

Elaine Ambrose
Eagle, Idaho

Kim Anderson, Director of Communications and Marketing
Kootenai Health, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Kathy Barnard-LaPointe, Director, CAHNRS/WSU Extension Marketing and News Services
Washington State University, Pullman, Washington

Sara Bartles, Political Consultant
Boise, Idaho

Rebecca Boone, Reporter
Associated Press, Boise, Idaho

Mark Browning, VP Community Relations & Marketing
North Idaho College. Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Emily Callihan, Public Information Officer
Idaho Department of Lands, Boise, Idaho

Charles M. Christopher, President
Advantage Advertising, Inc., Lewiston, Idaho

Bill Drake, President
DrakeCooper, Boise, Idaho

Jennifer Fletcher, Editor
Council Fires, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Megan Guido, Executive Director
Pullman Regional Hospital Foundation, Pullman, Washington

Peter Haggart, Professor Emeritus
Moscow, Idaho

Maria Hartshorne, MTR Communications
Spokane, Washington

John C. Hecht, Ret. Technical Writer/Editor
Boise, Idaho

Karole Honas, Anchor/Senior Reporter
KIFI-TV, Idaho Falls, Idaho

Marc Johnson, President and CEO
The Gallatin Group, Boise, Idaho

Mike Kerby, Managing Partner
c308 Marketing, Boise, Idaho

Esther Louie, Assistant Dean for Programming & Diversity
Whitworth College, Spokane, Washington

Lindsay Nothern, Communications Director
Office of Mike Crapo, Boise, Idaho

Douglas Oppenheimer, President
Oppenheimer Companies, Inc., Boise, Idaho

Mike Patrick, Managing Editor
The Press, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Martin Peterson, Ret. Asst to the UI President
Boise, Idaho

Julie Pipal, President
Idaho Trucking Association, Boise, Idaho

Travis Quast, Advertising Director
The Idaho Statesman, Boise, Idaho

Casey Shelley, Development Officer
Learning Lab, Boise, Idaho

Matthew M. Shelley, Chief of Party
International Research and Exchanges Board (IREX), Republic of Georgia

Sydney Sallabanks, Communications Manager
J.R. Simplot Co. Boise, Idaho

Don Shelton, Sports editor
The Seattle Times, Bothell, Washington

Christopher Smith, Executive Editor
Micron Technology, Inc., Boise, Idaho

Bruce Spotleson, Group Publisher
Greenspun Media Group, Henderson, Nevada

Mark Trahant, Writer/public speaker/Twitter poet
Fort Hall, Idaho

Matt Van Vleet, VP Communications, Government & Public Affairs
Clearwater Paper Corporation, Spokane, Washington