Contact & Location


Program in International Studies
Physical Address:
Admin. Bldg. #338
PHONE: (208) 885-6527
FAX: (208) 885-9464

Mailing Address:
Program in International Studies
c/o University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3177
Moscow, ID 83844-3177


U.N. Assembly

Model United Nations

Each spring, the National Model United Nations (NMUN) holds its annual conference in New York City. The NMUN brings more than 5,000 college students and faculty from all over the world together to simulate the United Nations, with closing exercises held in the Assembly Hall of the United Nations.

In addition to the rigorous schedule of committee simulations that takes place, students meet with representatives of the Permanent Missions of the countries they represent, and benefit from hearing high-level diplomats relevant to their assigned committee speak.

Much of the Spring semester is spent honing documents called position papers. These are used both at the UN and in the NMUN conference to provide thorough, yet concise statements of a country's positions on relevant issues. Position papers represent actual policy of a school’s assigned country, as each sentence is weighed for what it brings to the document.


The 2015 Model UN Students represented Indonesia and Trinidad and Tobago.  Students representing Indonesia are indicated with a * and students representing Trinidad and Tobago are indicated with a +.

General Assembly 1st Committee (Disarmament and International Security)

Victor Atkinson and Lin Worley *
Clara Bowman and Lulu Montenegro +

General Assembly 2nd Committee (Economic and Financial)

Marian Garcini and Marissa Shearer *
Alaina Heuring and Stefanie Neumeier +

General Assembly 3rd Committee (Social, Humanitarian and Cultural)

Brady Fuller and Kevin Green *
Rachael Delmer and Zoe Marko +

Food and Agriculture Organization

Christina Gonzalez and Savannah Slater *
Bekka Ashcraft and Madison Jacobson +

United Nations Environment Programme

Jessica Dexter and Willow Vero *
Anushka Karki and Tiffany Smith +

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Kendall Bancroft and Jana Smith *
Luis Aleman and Norma Valdivia +

Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

Patrick Ngalamulume *
Colin Orihuela +

Economic and Social Council

Kendyl Henderson and Carly Joerger *

United Nations Human Rights Council

Kristen Heier and Matt Ryan *

Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice

Georgie Timmins and Marielena Vega *

United Nations Children's Fund

Halle Gilbert and Emma Warr *

UN Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People

Anna Dolezal and Jacey Lenz *

Special Committee on Peacekeeping Operations

Ethan Mainini *

United Nations Development Programme

Amaya Amigo and John Im *

Head Delegates

Andres Alcantara, Jillian Greene and Daniel Lewis