Homepage photo (standing left to right): Martin School of International Studies Director - Bill Smith, Sarah Grigg, Courtney LaFranchi, Lionel Hampton School of Music professor - Barry Bilderback, (seated) Hannah Whisenant and Rachel Herndon.

Contact & Location


Program in International Studies
Physical Address:
Admin. Bldg. #338
PHONE: (208) 885-6527
FAX: (208) 885-9464
EMAIL: is@uidaho.edu

Mailing Address:
Program in International Studies
c/o University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 3177
Moscow, ID 83844-3177


The Martin Scholars

Martin Scholars

The Martin Institute inaugurated the Martin Scholar program in 2005 in order to help IS majors be more competitive for post-graduation employment and admission to graduate programs. Students selected as Martin Scholars become paid research interns working on major global issues.

The scholars work in groups of three or four on a predetermined topic, under the guidance of both a faculty mentor who is expert in the field and the Institute Director. They take a one credit class during the first six weeks of the Fall semester which focuses on the topic, following which they select a particular research topic that will then engage them for the rest of the academic year.

A dedicated office is set aside across from the Martin Institute for use of the Scholars, who hold a minimum of two office hours each week. Each Scholar receives between $500 and $1000 for their work, which culminates in a public presentation of their research. Applications for the forthcoming academic year are available at the beginning of March each Spring.

For 2013-2014, one group of Martin Scholars has been selected

Contemporary Global Diplomacy
Faculty Mentor Dr. Pingchao Zhu, Department of History
Andrew Blake
Darci Dobson
Jessie Giguiere
Clare Haley
Ana Reed

For 2012-2013, one group of Martin Scholars was selected

Ethics in International Discourse
Faculty Mentor Dr. Graham Hubbs, Department of Philosophy
Tolu Adekunle
Nikki Henderson
Susan Klebba
Bethany Lowe

For 2011-2012, one group of Martin Scholars was selected

The Performing Arts & International Affairs
Faculty Mentor Dr. Barry Bilderback, School of Music
Sarah Grigg
Rachel Herndon
Courtney LaFranchi
Hannah Whisenant

For 2010-2011

Informal Economy
Faculty Mentor Dr. Leontina Hormell, Department of Sociology/Anthropology
Corrie Ellis
Maren Mabbutt
Max Pengilly
Nick Timchalk
Kirstin Ward

International Policy Formulation
Faculty Mentor Dr. Bill L. Smith, Martin Institute
Sally Ames
Cari Dighton
Katie Tribley
Mallory Tomczak

2009-2010: Genes and Justice
Faculty Mentor Dr. Sandra Reineke, Department of Political Science
Cassandra Byrne
Shantel Chapple
Lynn McAllister
Meredith Payton

International Policy Formulation
Faculty Mentor Dr. Bill L. Smith, Martin Institute
Cari Anne Cranney
Jennica Draney
Lauren McConnell
Erin McGown

Additional students will be identified on an ad hoc basis this Fall.