Ernest Hemingway

Contact & Location


Department of English

Physical Address:
Brink Hall 200
(208) 885-6156 phone
(208) 885-5944 fax

Mailing Address:
English Department
c/o University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 1102
Moscow, Idaho

Hemingway & Idaho


The Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award was established in 1976 by the late Mary Hemingway in honor of her husband Ernest Hemingway. The distinction is given for a novel or book of short stories by an American author who has not previously published a book of fiction, and the award includes an $8,000 cash prize. This prestigious award, bestowed in past years on such eminences as Marilynne Robinson, Teju Cole, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Bobbi Ann Mason, has always been an excellent prediction of a young writer’s future success, with many winners having gone on to win Pulitzers.

The University of Idaho's Creative Writing Program and The Hemingway Review have partnered with the Hemingway Foundation/PEN New England in the annual award. Each year, the winner visits the University of Idaho to read and meet with students, faculty, and the community. This year's winner, NoViolet Bulawayo,received her award at the John F. Kennedy Library in Boston, Massachusetts in a spring ceremony. She won for her novel We Need New Names. She will visit Moscow and present a public reading during the Hemingway Festival, March 3rd - 5th, 2015.