Banner for MFA readings page


We have a slew of readings. The Distinguished Visiting Writer program brings three nationally recognized authors to campus for an intimate week-long workshop with our MFA students. The distinguished visiting writer also conducts a public reading.

We also bring in 3-5 additional visiting writers per year for public readings. These writers, most of them hugely successful, occasionally lecture or meet with MFA students.

We're greatly honored each year to host the PEN-Hemingway award winner. This award is presented to an American writer in honor of her/his first novel or short story collection. The author reads during the annual Hemingway Festival.

Finally, MFA students have a chance to read their own work at the highly festive, and reader-friendly, Symposium Reading Series, held in faculty living rooms 6-8 times per year.  Students may also want to read in the Occasional Reading Series, a community event that brings together writers, artists and musicians.

Distinguished Visiting Writers
    Dinty Moore (nonfiction): Sept 25, 2013, 7:30pm, U of Idaho Law School Courtroom
    Tymhimba Jess (poetry): Oct 23, 2013, 7:30pm, U of Idaho Law School Courtroom
    Teju Cole (fiction): Nov 13, 2013, 7:30pm, U of Idaho Law School Courtroom

PEN-Hemingway Award Winnner
Kevin Powers: Feb 12, 2014, 7:30pm, Kenworthy Theater  

Faculty Readings
     Joy Passanante: April 3, 2014, 7:30pm, BookPeople

Visiting Writers
      Jonathan Evison (fiction): Sept 11, 2013, 7:30pm, BookPeople
      Janisse Ray: Feb 20, 7:30pm, BookPeople
      Diane Raptosh: March 12, 7:30pm (tentative)
      Chris Howell: Apr 17, 7:30pm, BookPeople

Symposium (Student readings)   

January 257:00pm

Erin James’ house

Alex Baldwin (Poetry) and Jeff Pearson (Poetry)

March 296:00pm

Max Ebert’s house

Max Ebert (Fiction), Daniel Iacob (Poetry) and Jennifer Hawk (Nonfiction)

           April 19, 7:00pm

           Brandon Schrand’s House

           Katherine Johnson (Nonfiction) and Gretchen Schulz (Nonfiction)