Contact Us


College of Agricultural & Life Sciences

Agricultural Sciences Bldg.
Phone: (208) 885-6681
Fax: (208) 885-6654

Mailing Address:
College of Agricultural and Life Sciences
University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 2331
Moscow, ID 83844-2331


College of 
Agricultural & Life Sciences
University of Idaho
322 E. Front Street
Boise, ID 83702
phone: (208) 334-2999
toll free: (866) 264-7384
fax: (208) 364-4035

Coeur d'Alene

College of 
Agricultural & Life Sciences
University of Idaho
1031 N. Academic Way, Suite 242
Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-2277
phone: (208) 667-2588
toll free: (888) 208-2268
fax: (208) 664-1272


Idaho Falls

College of 
Agricultural & Life Sciences
University of Idaho
1776 Science Center Dr., Suite 306
Idaho Falls, Idaho  83402
phone: (208) 282-7900
fax: (208) 282-7929


faculty CALS award winners 2013

U-Idaho College of Agricultural and Life Science Honors Faculty, Students and Staff

MOSCOW, Idaho – Will Loucks graduated this spring from the University of Idaho with an animal science degree and plans to become a veterinarian. He graduated as the University of Idaho College of Agricultural and Life Sciences outstanding senior for 2013. Loucks was honored recently during the college’s annual award ceremony for students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends.

Gregory Möller, professor of environmental chemistry and toxicology in the School of Food Science, won the R.M. Wade Excellence in Teaching Award. Möller’s classes, all of them taught online, include principles of sustainability, principles of environmental toxicology and food toxicology.

Gordon Murdoch, an associate professor of animal and veterinary science, won the college’s outstanding academic advising award. He teaches anatomy and physiology, and other classes. In 2011, he won the department’s outstanding academic adviser award.

Loucks, who grew up on an island homestead near Prince Rupert, British Columbia, earned the college’s outstanding freshman during his first year on campus. In between he won the animal and veterinary science department’s outstanding junior and senior awards.

Loucks reports to class the week after graduation to begin working on a master’s degree in animal physiology with CALS professor Matt Doumit, a meat scientist.

Others nominated for outstanding senior included Casey Zufelt of Kuna, Idaho; Jordan Jacobs of West Jordan, Utah; Parker Burton of John Day, Ore.; Amanda Strey of Fruitland, Idaho; Julia Christian of Pullman, Wash.; and Athena Beckwith of Jordan Valley, Ore.

Seth Pratt of Blackfoot, Idaho, was named the college’s outstanding junior. During his first semester as a junior, Pratt won election as western region vice president for national FFA. He returned to campus this year after completing his year-long leadership role and a trip to Liberia to support youth leadership efforts there through 4-H.

Others nominated for outstanding junior included Evan Dixon of Idaho Falls, Idaho; Mickinzie Johnson of Idaho Falls, Idaho; Roy Handley of Clinton, Mont.; Emily DeFord of Benton City, Wash.; and Amanda Wilder of Meridian, Idaho.

Kimberly Davenport of Moscow, Idaho, was named the college’s outstanding sophomore. A member of the University Honors Program, she participates in the college’s Pre-Vet and Dairy clubs. She has worked as a veterinary technician for a Moscow veterinary clinic.

Others nominated for outstanding sophomore included Michelle Ball of Kuna, Idaho; Ray Mosman of Nez Perce, Idaho; Lucas Sass of Genesee, Idaho; Caitlin Carr of Troy, Idaho; Alexandra Kubista of Nampa, Idaho; and Lindsey Milligan of Idaho Falls, Idaho.

Darryl Kerby of Lenore, Idaho was named the college’s outstanding freshman. A graduate of Kendrick High School, she is queen of the Lewiston Roundup Rodeo this year. An animal and veterinary science student, she is in the pre-veterinary education option.

Others nominated for outstanding freshman included Kylie Shaul of Meridian, Idaho; Margarita Contreras of Marsing, Idaho; Jeff Kaufman of Lewiston, Idaho; Tessa Bowey of Sheridan, Mont.; and Courtney Fetters of Bakersfield, Calif.

The college awards ceremony April 29 also recognized staff members Judy Vandegrift of the biological and agricultural engineering department for outstanding office support, Lonie Austin of the school of food science for outstanding service and maintenance support, and Bill Loftus of educational communications for outstanding program management general management support.

Please enable Javascript to view this slideshow