University of Idaho - I Banner
students walk on University of Idaho campus

Visit U of I

Learn about the many reasons the University of Idaho could be a perfect fit for you. Schedule Your Visit

Parents on campus during orientation

Homecoming Oct. 1-7

Join other Vandal families for a week of celebration and Vandal traditions. View Calendar

campus full of students

U of I Retirees Association

UIRA has a membership of nearly 500 from every part of the University. Learn More

University Honors Program Committee

UHP curriculum and policy are determined by the Honors Program Committee, a standing committee of the university faculty. The function of the committee is to recommend policies for the program, including admission requirements; act on changes in the program; act on petitions for exceptions to the requirements of the program.

  • David Pfeiffer, (HPC Committee Chair), Biological Sciences
  • Mark Nielsen, Math
  • Mark Roll, Material Science and Chemistry
  • Pamela Bathurst, Music
  • Jennifer Johnson-Leung, Math
  • Ashley Kerr, Modern Languages and Cultures
  • Diane Carter, Psychology and Communication
  • David Vail, President, Honors Leadership Council (one vote)
  • Sandra Reineke, UHP Director (w/o vote)

Download Call for Honors Seminar Proposals for 2015 - 2016 (doc)

Faculty Staff Handbook 1640.53 
A-1. To recommend policies for the University Honors Program, including admissions requirements. 
A-2. To act on changes in the program. 
A-3. To act on petitions for exceptions to the requirements of the program. [The committee's actions on petitions may be appealed as stated in FSH Section 2500.] 
B. STRUCTURE. Six faculty members to represent a broad spectrum of the UI community, an academic dean from one of the six colleges representing the honors curriculum (college representation to rotate on an annual basis), president of the Honors Leadership Council or designee, and (without vote), director of the University Honors Program (UHP), associate director of the UHP, program advisor of the UHP (staff). The latter serves as secretary. One of the six appointed faculty members serves as chair. [rev. 7/06]

Honors Program Committee webpage via Faculty Senate site/committee pages (includes Minutes, reports, related historical records, review materials)

Physical Address:

UI Commons
Room 315A
875 Perimeter Dr.
MS 2533

Phone: (208) 885-0154